Pickled Hot Peppers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2011
Turned out great! We needed a recipe for this and were delighted to see that this was a good one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2011
Uh ok, look, this is ok but like a few others I am not to keen on cooking the peppers in the liquid unless you like mushy peppers. Better to pack the jar with peppers, and then pour the cooked liquid on top, slit each pepper about an inch (or 1/3 the length of the pepper for smaller ones), so th eliquid can enter the peppers. pour the liquid till it reaches about 1/4 inch from th etop, placed lids tightly on the jars and put them immersed in near boiling water for about 10 to 15 minutes to seal jars. Let the jars then cool to room temp and I place them in the compact fridge in my basement that is set at a temp setting of 1. It holds about twenty jars. Let them "cure" for about 3 weeks to a month and man, great. I add to th ejar with peppers, about 6 slivers of raw onion, 1 cinamon stick, 1 bay leaf, and about a teaspoon of peppercorns. They are a little spicy, not too spicy, but have a great flavor. Eat them plain, with crackers, or for cooking in sauces. This is th esimplest way to can or jar pickles. You don't need all the fancy junk like pressure cookers, canning pots. You kitchen needs one large pot and maybe, maybe a couple medium sized pots depending on how many jars you want to do at one time. I usually do six at a time. easy and idiot proof.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2011
I decided to make these before I went to work this morning and it really only took about 10 minutes. I scaled it down to 10 servings and it nearly filled a 3 cup jar. I didn't do a water bath because I put them in the fridge. I used what I had picked-banana peppers, 2 jalapenos, and I decided to throw in a green tomato. YUMMY! I set it on my counter at 7:30 and ate some at 1:00 and they were fantastic. I will certainly make this again with whatever I have on hand, but the jalapeno is the important part for the spiciness. Super Easy and tasty. Thanks for the recipe! Oh-I did not boil the veggies w/ the brine, but just added them (minus the tomato) for the last minute of simmer then put them in the jar on top of the tomato.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2011
I've been pickling hot hungarian peppers, jalapenos and habaneros for a long time. I bring the brine to a full boil. I put the peppers and a piece of garlic in hot sterlized jar, ladle the hot brine into the jar, put approximately 1 tablespoon of evoo, and cover with hot sterlized lid and cap. That's it. Let sit for a month before opening. We are opening some jars now from last August and the peppers are nice and crisp. Be sure to wipe lip of jar off before putting on cap. Work quickly with each jar but don't try to do more than one jar at a time. Store in cool, dark area. If you enjoy hot hot, try making hot pepper jelly. Habanero hot pepper jelly served with cream cheese and crackers is the best. Just a dab of jelly though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pegmcneal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Angola, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CNM CATERING
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
I made these back in August/ September but just opened the first jar. Since when I make dill pickles they are supposed to be stored for a min. of 8 weeks I figured to get the full flavor out of these I would do the same. They were definately worth the wait. I gave a jar to a friend of mine last week and she has already requested a 2nd jar b/c they are so good. Thanks for this great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CNM CATERING

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Edgewater Park, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2010
I canned peppers but they turned mushy. Any help? I want to make another batch but am afraid they too will be mushy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Karen
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2010
Great Recipe! So easy to make. only thing different I did was to chunk the onion not chop.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2010
I had to substitute cayenne peppers for the serrano because that is what we had growing in our garden. Also added about 1/4 cup thinly sliced carrot to each jar as I filled them. I had so many peppers that I wound up tripling the recipe. Since the recipe did not specify I assumed from the picture that processing/boiling time was for pint jars. I used some quarts and some pints. Processed the pints for 15 mins and the quarts for 25 mins. All sealed perfectly. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jasper, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2010
These are very good! I had a bunch of banana peppers (hot and sweet) to use up, so I thought I would give this a try. NOTE: I did not use the other peppers called for because I didn't have any, but will definately add them next time. I did cut my peppers into thinner rings. These would be great on a sandwich or as a pizza topping. I did not find them too vinegary as others said. I thought they were perfectly flavored. I will definately be using this recipe again and again! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

How to Make Pickled Hot Peppers

See how to turn hot chile peppers into peppy pickles.

How to Make Pickled Peppers

See how to make pickled peppers in a delicious and versatile vinegar brine.

Quick Pickled Jalapeno Rings

Watch Chef John make quick-and-easy pickled peppers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States