Pickled Hot Peppers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2014
I added 6 T of sugar to the brine. This cut the vinegary-ness but did not lose the pickle flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2014
Good recipe. Needed some salt for flavor after opening the jar from the pantry, so next time I make it, I'll just add salt to the vinegar mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gideon's Mummy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cheswick, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2014
Would not ever use this recipe again. Can't imagine how bad it would be if I hadn't followed Kelly's comments. Total mush and no color. So disappointed
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2014
First time canning as an adult watching my mom make 1000's and 1000's of jars of every vegetable grown on the farm for which I worked. Looks like everything worked well canning-wise, but as far as this particular recipe, cooking the peppers for 5 minutes is far too long. Blanching them for a minute or two, roasting them slightly in a skillet or over the grill, or not cooking them at all would prove to be a better approach to preparing the peppers as mine ended up softer than I'd like. I'm sure they'll taste just fine in 6 months!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2013
Easy to make, and peppers taste terrific! We had an abundance of hot fresno and anaheim chiles this year - this recipe was perfect! We sliced them in thin rings instead of big chunks, and did not process them - no need if they are kept in the fridge, as the vinegar will inhibit spoilage. We did add some sea salt to the recipe - about 1 teaspoon. Can't wait to put them on a homemade deli sandwich - they taste very similar to store-bought pepperoncinis! Yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2013
I don't can them but keep them refrigerated. Home grown jallys and this recipe kicks balls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Apendecto

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2012
Everybody loves them and always ask for the recipe. Quick and easy to make. I do not cook my peppers at all. I chop em' and put em' in the jars and pour the hot vinegar over them. Water bath as it says. Taste fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greensburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Ashville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2012
I reduced the heat for us by using only 1/4# of banana peppers and using Anaheim chilis instead of jalapenos. Everything else stayed the same. These were so nice having them around for sandwiches or just snacking. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
My Father LOVED these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2011
this is the one recipe that is off the chart good.it was excatly what i was looking for to can all the peppers i grew this summer.i added a little extea onion just because i like them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by garyjerome

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Pickled Hot Peppers

See how to turn hot chile peppers into peppy pickles.

How to Make Pickled Peppers

See how to make pickled peppers in a delicious and versatile vinegar brine.

Quick Pickled Jalapeno Rings

Watch Chef John make quick-and-easy pickled peppers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States