Pickled Green Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2004
These are great! People couldn't get enough of them. The earlier reviewer who says this recipe is unsafe because it isn't pressure canned is incorrect. The acid in the vinegar makes this a pickle which means it is safe to water bath. You would NOT want to mess around with the 50/50 proportion of water to vinegar though, that could cause safety problems. The jars come out of the water bath with the beans looking ugly and shriveled but if you let the jars stand in your pantry for at least a couple of weeks the beans will rehydrate and look and taste just right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
154 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chellebelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2003
I have been making Dilly Beans for years and everyone now just expects to get a jar at Christmas. If you like things a little spicy, try putting a 1/4 tsp. cayenne pepper or some red pepper flakes in each jar with the garlic and dill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
111 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetBasil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Liberty Hill, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2005
your recipe didn't indicate how long before you could eat them. I called my mother and mother in law and all they could tell me was if it was the same as pickles you needed to wait 3 to 4 months before eating???
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2002
These beans are wonderful! My great uncle used to can dilly beans for me when I was younger and since he passed away I've been craving them. No one else in my family cans them. I found this recipe and made my own. I've been putting them into quarts because the pints just don't last long enough. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2005
Used half wax beans and half green beans. Also, substituted dill weed for fresh dill. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peach822

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fernandina Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2004
These are SO good... even my 5-year old daughter couldn't get enough. I added a banana pepper to each jar for "looks", too... which added some flavor to boot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LLCOUG

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2011
This filled two large Ball Jars. I did double the garlic (four cloves in each jar), added 1/4 sliced onion to the bottom of each jar and 1 teaspoon of crushed red pepper as well. So far, they smell amazing. This was very simple--it took less than ten minutes to make. I'm going to give it a couple days until I try them, but I'll tell you, it's going to be a hard couple days. ;) I'll update my review once I've had a chance to try it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2009
These are fantastic! My daughter loves to snack on them and of course they are great in Bloody Mary's. You can add red pepper flakes or other peppers to spice them up but I like them "dilly". I cannot wait to grow more beans this summer to make a lot more of these beans this year! I do like to chill the beans on ice for a couple of hours to make sure they are extra crisp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacy Lemke Nugent

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2001
i love bloody marys these are great in them!!!!!!!!!!!!!!1
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2010
I've been making these for years and the kids love them. include 1/8 - 1/4 tsp cayenne pepper in each jar for a little zip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BFarrell71

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Syrian Green Beans with Olive Oil

See how to make a quick-and-easy green bean side.

Greek Green Beans

Green beans simmer with tomatoes and onions until tender and yummy.

All about Green Beans

Thick or thin, whole or French cut, raw or cooked, green beans are the best side.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States