Pickled Green Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2013
awesome!!! i added hot peppers for the zest great flavor and nice and crunchy thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JOANNEH2

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2013
My aunt used to make a similar recipe. My mother used to scold me as a kid for eating too many of these; she said I'd get an upset stomach. I couldn't find my aunt's recipe so I used this instead. The only difference was a pinch of cayenne pepper and I also mix in yellow beans. I always wait at least 2 weeks to open a jar. These are great for anyone who likes pickled anything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ibbz
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2012
I have to make these every year. Family can't get enough. Perfect, simple recipe. Add seasonings to your taste, but this is great as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ibbz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wisconsin Rapids, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2011
These are amazing and people love them at a party!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam Ruth

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2011
I added a few red chii flakes to give them some kick! Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2011
Good, but a bit too sour. I was surprised to see that there wasn't ANY sugar in this recipe but decided to try it as is anyway. Too sour. I added 1/2tsp to the jar I opened and shook it up and now they're perfect. It cut the acidity JUST enough!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2011
This filled two large Ball Jars. I did double the garlic (four cloves in each jar), added 1/4 sliced onion to the bottom of each jar and 1 teaspoon of crushed red pepper as well. So far, they smell amazing. This was very simple--it took less than ten minutes to make. I'm going to give it a couple days until I try them, but I'll tell you, it's going to be a hard couple days. ;) I'll update my review once I've had a chance to try it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2011
I love this recipe. I changed it a little though. I used french beans, tarragon instead of dill , added 2 tblsp of sugar and reduced the salt by half. My family love them. They just eat them out of the jar...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sexiqueen

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2011
Haven't tried these yet, but thanks for indicating how many pints this recipe makes. Most don't and that's frustrating trying to figure out how many jars and what size you need.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by doggymom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Monterey, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
I have other Pickled Bean Recipes, and they all say to ferment for 2-3 weeks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Syrian Green Beans with Olive Oil

See how to make a quick-and-easy green bean side.

Greek Green Beans

Green beans simmer with tomatoes and onions until tender and yummy.

All about Green Beans

Thick or thin, whole or French cut, raw or cooked, green beans are the best side.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States