Pickled Eggs II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2014
I don't change the recipe other than a 1/4 teaspoon of fresh ground hot pepper mix from my garden. I always bring them to deer camp and to the cabin for other guy weekends. I steam my eggs for 10-11 minutes then cool under cold water. Ive gotten eggs from mt friend that are hours old, and they still peel easily. Steam your eggs folks! I make these a few times a year and even my 4 year old son, and 2 year old daughter ask for them. My wife on the other hand threatens divorce when the house smells of the brine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jay

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2014
Egg-cellent (sorry, had to do it)starting point for pickled eggs. Mix it up by varying the components (acid liquid, non-acid liquid, and/or spice additives). Our latest adventure used olive brine for the water component and crisply fried, lean, thick-cut bacon, sweet onions, olives and peppercorns. Turned out great. Bacon was yummy pickled.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2014
I was wondering do you know the expected shelf life of these? I made a smal batch to try it out and they were good so I plan on making a really big batch of these and was wondering how long they could be stored.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2014
Great recipe for the average pickler, i changed up the recipe abit, added 1/4cup more vinegar added dried hot pepper and fennel seeds, gives it a good kick....this recipe also works great for carrots!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2014
Next time I'll cut the water and add more vinegar and leave the bay leaf out (there's already bay leaf in the pickling spices I used). Good, but not great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
Just like my Mom used to make.....soooooo good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
I didn't have the recipe in front of me so I kinda winged it. I didn't exactly sterilize the jars and lids. I put one tablespoon of pickling spice in each jar along work a bay leaf in each and used about a teaspoon of pickling salt in each jar. About a teaspoon of minced garlic from a jar was convenient. Three weeks later they turned out to be the best (and strongest flavoured) pickled eggs ever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ted

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2013
I love pickled eggs. Always wanted a recipe. I bought some jalepeno eggs from the Amish and decided to make my own. Didn't change a thing to the recipe except added hot peppers and a dash of red pepper flakes. Wonderful easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2013
To anyone who tries this please remember that newer eggs are harder than heck to peel...buy your eggs at least a week in advance then pickle on...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2013
I love this recipe!! We like eggs a little tart and spicy so I added a few peppercorns and a pinch of crushed red peppers and a few sliced onions. Also, I did not add the sugar. We just opened the first jar after 9 days!!! Wonderful!! Can't wait for my kids to try them!! Josie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pickled Eggs II

See how to make classic pickled eggs.

Quick Pickled Eggs and Beets

This simple Southern snack is a cinch to prepare.

Di's Delicious Deluxe Deviled Eggs

See how to make zesty, creamy deviled eggs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States