Pickled Eggs I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2002
Probably just me but it just wasn't the taste I was going for. Just didn't seem to be very "pickled".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LTISONE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Ligonier, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2005
Flavorless. Needs more vinegar. Suggest red wine vinegar double recipe quantity and subtract the wine from the recipe. Forget the pickling spice, it matters not. Don't chop onion either: slice it for better looks. Havn't tried my own suggestions, but it has got to be better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: South Bend, Indiana, USA
Living In: Mishawaka, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2005
the only thing i do that is different....I add a tspn of sugar........other than that...it's a great recipe for the pickled lover
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EDDWARD

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2009
I followed the recipe at first was very good. I than tweeked it a tad.I ditched the red wine and the pickling spice.I upped the vinegar by half a cup.I left the beets in and sliced the onion thick. Spot on.I cant seem keep these around the family eats them faster than I can make them
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: South River, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Monmouth Junction, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2011
Great just as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ECampbell

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sunnyvale, California, USA
Living In: Lolo, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2011
Great recipe for eggs! The pickling spices add a complexity of flavors and the wine adds a beautiful deep color. The only thing I would do different is cut back on the water, increase the wine and vinegar, and up the spices to a tablespoon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2013
I substituted red wine vinegar for red wine & white vinegar. Gives it a more "pickled flavour".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rick Whittles

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2014
Hey! I tried with cubes of the beets tasting the eggs together in the jar. -Great and thanks!!! Jan
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pickled Eggs II

See how to make classic pickled eggs.

Quick Pickled Eggs and Beets

This simple Southern snack is a cinch to prepare.

Easter Chick Deviled Eggs

A delicious deviled egg recipe gets a cute-for-Easter makeover.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States