Pickled Beets Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2005
Needs more spices. I added cinnamon, ground the cloves and added them both to the hot brine. I also added sliced onions to the beets in the jars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
222 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shoals, Indiana, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2006
Beets were great. I've made them several times. The only change I made was to add some sliced red onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
429 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairport, New York, USA
Living In: East Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2006
perfect
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Cookstown, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2007
We made this recipe and it turned out great. Very easy recipe to follow. The beets are delicious. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
184 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2007
This recipe is super easy and the beets taste great! I added cinnamon to the mixture, and I'm glad I did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ColleenMick

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2007
Just like Grandma used to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kincardine, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2007
There is way too much cloves in this recipe. You can hardly taste the beet, and it made my tongue numb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
97 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2008
This was a great recipe for a "pickling" beginner. Great taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Martensville, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2008
This recipe is just fine - no cinnamon or other spices - they are not spiced pickled beets, just pickled beets. Some people like to add onion, but not me or Juanita ever add onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
88 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Evelyn Paradies

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: East Moline, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2008
The longer these sit, the better they are.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bay City, Michigan, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 85) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Pickled Beets

See how to turn fresh beets into homemade pickles.

Quick Pickled Eggs and Beets

This simple Southern snack is a cinch to prepare.

Quick Pickled Jalapeno Rings

Watch Chef John make quick-and-easy pickled peppers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States