Pickled Beets Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2013
absolutely perfect! I made it as stated and didn't change a thing. Best pickled beets I've ever eaten. I used the direction "Add several whole cloves to each jar". I didn't measure out 1/4 cloves and split that equally between 10 pint jars. Maybe the reviewer who said there was way too much cloves did that???
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2013
Oh dear... Last night.we made 12 - 1 liter jars and just read other recipes that say we should have peeled the beets. This recipe didn't mention that so we didn't peel them!!! Are they going to be ok???
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2013
This recipe is similar to mine but a lot more work than mine, with sterilizing, etc. I simply buy a bunch of beets (usually 3 with the leaves). I peel them with potato peeler, cut them into bite size pieces, cover with water in pot, add 1/2 cup each sugar and vinegar, 1/2 to 1 tsp cloves, 1/4 tsp salt and cook over medium heat for half hour. Then I just put them in any container and store in refrigerator for up to 6 months. They are always great. I make them frequently so I don't have to can them. I then use the beet leaves chopped up in any ham soup (discarding stems). The leaves are delicious in soups and very little waste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2013
We had so much fun making this recipe. It is easy and delicious. Best beets ever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2013
The recipe makes more than it says,i used 12 jars.Does anyone know any easier way to peel these? After i cooked they did'n peel as easy.I added a garlic clove,cinnamon,and a pintch of cloves and red onions.I'll see how they taste in 3 wks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura vieau

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2013
It had too much clove. The clove taste took over, way too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2012
Cinnamon and clove are great in this recipe. All my kids are truly enjoying these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Powell River, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2012
Love these, thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2012
when you first boil your beets leave about 2 inches of stem on them... This will prevent them bleeding out so bad
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2012
I love this revipe. I don't can them I freeze them. Fully cooked sliced and brine poured over left to sit overnight in refrigerator and then packed in zip lock bags. I use left over brine to pickle eggs. So good and super easy. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 80) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pickled Beets

See how to turn fresh beets into homemade pickles.

Quick Pickled Eggs and Beets

This simple Southern snack is a cinch to prepare.

Quick Pickled Jalapeno Rings

Watch Chef John make quick-and-easy pickled peppers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States