Pickled Beets Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 25, 2014
This recipes was easy to follow, however it took a lot longer than 50 minutes. It took 30 minutes for the beets to get nice and tender. It took a total of about an hour and a half to two hours total prep time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
Tried this and absolutely love it! And I am not a "pickling" beginner by any means.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2013
Not impressive. WAY TOO MUCH CLOVE, it numbed our tongues immediately. Unfortunately I've got 5 pts of tongue numbing unimpressive beets.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2013
I use a similar recipe but use just a couple of cloves and add a stick of cinnamon to the brine while it's heating. My mother in law (many years ago) put in a sprig of fresh dill in one jar and we never make it without the dill anymore. It's awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2013
I agree with folks who suggest decreasing the cloves. I put just 2 each in quart jars. We love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by scard

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brunswick, Maine, USA
Living In: Casco, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2013
absolutely perfect! I made it as stated and didn't change a thing. Best pickled beets I've ever eaten. I used the direction "Add several whole cloves to each jar". I didn't measure out 1/4 cloves and split that equally between 10 pint jars. Maybe the reviewer who said there was way too much cloves did that???
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2013
Oh dear... Last night.we made 12 - 1 liter jars and just read other recipes that say we should have peeled the beets. This recipe didn't mention that so we didn't peel them!!! Are they going to be ok???
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2013
This recipe is similar to mine but a lot more work than mine, with sterilizing, etc. I simply buy a bunch of beets (usually 3 with the leaves). I peel them with potato peeler, cut them into bite size pieces, cover with water in pot, add 1/2 cup each sugar and vinegar, 1/2 to 1 tsp cloves, 1/4 tsp salt and cook over medium heat for half hour. Then I just put them in any container and store in refrigerator for up to 6 months. They are always great. I make them frequently so I don't have to can them. I then use the beet leaves chopped up in any ham soup (discarding stems). The leaves are delicious in soups and very little waste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2013
We had so much fun making this recipe. It is easy and delicious. Best beets ever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2013
The recipe makes more than it says,i used 12 jars.Does anyone know any easier way to peel these? After i cooked they did'n peel as easy.I added a garlic clove,cinnamon,and a pintch of cloves and red onions.I'll see how they taste in 3 wks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura vieau

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pickled Beets

See how to turn fresh beets into homemade pickles.

Quick Pickled Eggs and Beets

This simple Southern snack is a cinch to prepare.

Quick Pickled Jalapeno Rings

Watch Chef John make quick-and-easy pickled peppers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States