Pickled Asparagus Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2008
Mom wanted some pickled asparagus. I could not find what she wanted at the store, but the asparagus was on sale. Never canned a thing in my life but these turned out GREAT. Mom loved them. My Mom turned 92 this year and if she wants something I try to get it for her. The whole family loved them. Very easy to do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
98 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2004
I've been making these for years, ever since we had them as a garnish in a Bloody Mary drink in Hawaii. Do pick smallest diameter spears you can find. I also put several crushed cloves of garlic and more red pepper flakes in the bottom of the jars. Makes a wonderful item to tuck into a gift basket, or to give away at the holidays, long after asparagus season is gone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
104 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetBasil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Liberty Hill, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2006
turned out great. I had 5 lbs of asparagus from the farmer's market and no idea what to do with any of it. I pickled half (the skinnier ones) using this recipe. I used fresh dill from teh garden in place of dill seed and I also doubled the recipe. So good! Especially in out bloody mary's.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chippewa Falls, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2007
Can't get enough of these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LLCOUG

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2011
Absolutely Superb!!!! Made just one batch of these the other night. Slightly hot and all pickly goodness. My husband almost at the whole jar!!! We just got back from the farmer's market with 16 lbs of asparagus to pickle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2011
Good, a little sweeter than I am used too but good. thanks. for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tgattis
Home Town: Pasco, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2008
This may be common canning knowledge...but I didn't know this: Be sure to pack the asparagus tightly in the jars. If you don't, you run the risk of the asparagus overcooking during the 10-minute processing time. I added a crushed garlic clove to the bottom of each jar. Otherwise, no changes to the recipe. The pickling juice had a great flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
223 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PeanutBaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2009
Didn't use dill seed and accidentally added crushed red peppers to the boiling liquid and not to each jar. These had a very nice mix of sweet and tart. Next time I'll use larger jars, add more onion, a couple slivers of garlic and I think red bell pepper would be a nice addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HIJIMMY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Vienna, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2011
A little on the sweet with a little heat. This recipe is a very tasty snack. Perfect for any pickle dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Greg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
i love these! sounds like more of a process than it is. really great use for asparagus you may have forgotten you had;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kmeth

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pickled Asparagus

See how to turn fresh asparagus into delicious homemade pickles.

How to Make Pickled Beets

See how to turn fresh beets into homemade pickles.

Quick Pickled Jalapeno Rings

Watch Chef John make quick-and-easy pickled peppers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States