Pickled Asparagus Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2004
I've been making these for years, ever since we had them as a garnish in a Bloody Mary drink in Hawaii. Do pick smallest diameter spears you can find. I also put several crushed cloves of garlic and more red pepper flakes in the bottom of the jars. Makes a wonderful item to tuck into a gift basket, or to give away at the holidays, long after asparagus season is gone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
101 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetBasil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Liberty Hill, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2006
turned out great. I had 5 lbs of asparagus from the farmer's market and no idea what to do with any of it. I pickled half (the skinnier ones) using this recipe. I used fresh dill from teh garden in place of dill seed and I also doubled the recipe. So good! Especially in out bloody mary's.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chippewa Falls, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2007
Can't get enough of these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LLCOUG

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2008
Mom wanted some pickled asparagus. I could not find what she wanted at the store, but the asparagus was on sale. Never canned a thing in my life but these turned out GREAT. Mom loved them. My Mom turned 92 this year and if she wants something I try to get it for her. The whole family loved them. Very easy to do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
88 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2008
This may be common canning knowledge...but I didn't know this: Be sure to pack the asparagus tightly in the jars. If you don't, you run the risk of the asparagus overcooking during the 10-minute processing time. I added a crushed garlic clove to the bottom of each jar. Otherwise, no changes to the recipe. The pickling juice had a great flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
211 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PeanutBaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2009
Didn't use dill seed and accidentally added crushed red peppers to the boiling liquid and not to each jar. These had a very nice mix of sweet and tart. Next time I'll use larger jars, add more onion, a couple slivers of garlic and I think red bell pepper would be a nice addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HIJIMMY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Vienna, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2009
Quite yummy. I just made them for the refrigerator, cooked the asparagus in the pickling liquid til just barely cooked, and then put in jar and into frig.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2010
This is good, although next time i will add less sugar. I was going more of a "bloody mary" type asparagus that is a little hotter, and less sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by squirrel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Perham, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Hawley, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2010
This was my first time pickling and it was kind of a scary experience! The asparagus turned out a lot better than ibthought they would, bubthe picle was sweet, which I don't care for. Will be looking for dill only pickles. Dilly beans are next on my list!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Krystal907

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Living In: Pullman, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2010
I barely followed this recipe at all as I wanted spicy spears for bloody mary's and I know that the sugar takes the bite out of the vinegar. I will say that the asparagus prep directions were spot on. I also added smashed garlic cloves to each jar and a sliced red jalapeno and omitted the mustard and dill seed. I doubled the fresh dill. So, after a lot of adjustments I loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lucyford

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pickled Asparagus

See how to turn fresh asparagus into delicious homemade pickles.

Pan-Fried Asparagus

A simple asparagus side dish with garlic, olive oil, and butter.

Asparagus with Ham and Lemon

Make a quick and easy fresh asparagus side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States