Piccalilli Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2013
I used this beautiful recipe to start from and the Picalilly I made was wonderfull! Just use the info and cook for yourself! The taste with the ginger and mustard is Far more better than all tese recipes that use curry. Simply, one big hurray for Grandmother!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
Hi Everyone - Another English review - To stop the veg from going muchy I put all of the fresh cut vegetables in a colinder and then sprincle a good pinch of salt over them - pop this over a bowl and then cover with a tea towl - set this aside over night - then the day after the water should have drawn out of the veg and be int he bowl below! then quickly rince off but not too much as to rehidrate the vegetables - this process keeps the veg crunchy. But I woould not make this again. I too found it far too salty and also far too thin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clitheroe, Lancashire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2010
Easy and fast to make, everyone enjoyed it with Easter dinner of ham and turkey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Canadiancook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2009
The recipe produces an excellent tasting end result. I agree with other reviewers that it should be thicker, and I roughly doubled the flour before deciding to wait and see how it turned out when it had cooled. I also agree with the reviewer who suggested that the cucumber not be peeled. When I make it again, I might add a half a small cabbage, shredded. Continuing to agree with other reviewers, I only cooked it about ten minutes before processing in jars. With all of that, it cooks quite a while beyond the stove top cooking. As I like the taste of the AMORA brand piccalilli that we bought in France (basically their regular mustard with the veggies added), I will probably double up on the mustard next time. I don't want to take away from this excellent recipe, but as many cooks do, I'll modify it to my own tastes moving forward, and I am delighted that Ruth shared it with us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cooks4Fun

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2009
i just made this recipe & i think its okay but it is runny , & i added more flour. it is a bit sour but then again this isnt't sweet piccallili. i do remember that my nan's recipe had to stand for 5 mths perhaps this is why its seems runny.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2009
All I can say is what happened to Piccalilli (picallili, picalilli??) with green tomatoes and cabbage?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2007
Another British opinion! It's been quite a while since I had store-bought Piccalilli, and this was not how I remember it. This wasn't revolting or anything, but it was quite salty and sour, and had an unappealing mushy consistency. Thanks anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2006
Another British opinion: The taste seems very good and authentic to me; not too salty. But I agree that the mixture needs extra thickening and the vegetables should not be simmered that long, perhaps 15 min for the onions, 10 min for the cauliflower and 2-3 min for the cucumber; or else 5-10 for all if that's too fiddly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sunflower1
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2006
I live in England so have an easy comparison. This is very runny and way too salty. i would recommend doubling the flour and halving the salt. Picalilli in England is quite thick, and not at all salty. I would also leave the skins on the cucumbers for a more "authentic" look.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sunflower1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mansfield, Nottinghamshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2006
This is not a good recipe! Unless you like mushy pickled vegetables! After buying the califlower, onions, spices, and using the cucumbers from my garden, then chopping everything, the whole thing turned to "mush" after simmering for 20 minutes. I thru everything out!!! It didn't even taste that good either. Yuk!! Not a good recipe to try!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Washington, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Creamy Dill Cucumber Toasties

This simple, creamy appetizer takes its cue from English tea sandwiches.

Chef John's Tzatziki Sauce

Discover Chef John's secret to making the creamiest, best-ever tzatziki sauce.

How to Make Beef Goulash

See how to make a succulent, saucy Hungarian beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States