Picante Black Bean Hummus Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
Delicious! I made a large batch on the spur of the moment and didn't have enough lime. So, I used one lime plus a fresh lemon and it was fabulous! I also added some salt and pepper to bring out the flavor of the beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
Easy, quick, basic recipe and everyone loves it! Using fresh lime instead of concentrate makes the flavor really perk up! I also add some fresh cilantro.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Darlene

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2011
This is wonderful. Even my picky eaters liked it and asked for seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2011
This is a good base recipe. The only seasoning comes from the picante sauce and the lime. I spent a lil time doctoring it up after it was made to get it to pop for me and my husband. What I did was add in sourcream, red pepper flakes, cumin, sea salt, cheese and tabasco. I then warmed it up a lil bit... and that made it pop for us. If I had some jalapeno I would have chopped that up to add more texture. I willl make this again, but with the above modifications to serve on the Frito Scoopers. I hope that this helps the next person.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michi Ilundaria

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Derry, County Londonderry, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Suring, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2011
I made this for a party, and was asked for the recipe. Very good and pretty versatile!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hartford, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2011
This is a nice, easy recipe, but I recommend you vary the salsa a bit to your own taste (we mixed two), and add more flavor for an adult audience. Nice 'n easy, though! Kids loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2012
watching super bowl, every one love it.... !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gonzalezlovetocook

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: May 22, 2012
This is so good even my husband, who dosen't really like bean dips, loved it. The lime flavor really adds a lot. I added just a little chipotle powder to kick up the spice. What a tasty way to serve black beans!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2013
Thanks, I made this as written except I added extra salsa. It doesn't taste like hummus, but it's a good dip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2013
So, so good! Best of all though is that it is super easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Heather's Cilantro, Black Bean, and Corn Salsa

A lively corn, avocado, and bean relish great with chips or as a side dish.

Black Bean and Corn Quesadillas

This Mexican favorite can be made easily for a quick weeknight dinner.

Delicious Black Bean Burritos

Black beans, cream cheese, & green chiles give basic burrito’s a tasty makeover.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States