Picante Beef Steaks with Sauteed Onions Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2011
I make this stuff all the time..did not know there was a recipe for it..Anyhow...I cook mine in the electric skillet and let it simmer for a long time to get tender and I also use Rotel instead of Picante sauce. I also do boneless pork chops this way. Season it with garlic powder, salt and pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mesquite, Texas, USA
Living In: Wills Point, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
I made this and LOVED it...even my 7 year old like it! I let the steaks simmer for a while and they were super tender. Will definately make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bbax29

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
Made this the other night and was a big hit with the family. After reading the recipe I thought it might be a little bland, so I fryed the beef with some Taco seasoning. I also sauteed bell peppers with the onions. Will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Catie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Angeles, Washington, USA
Living In: Renton, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
I made this last night. It came out very tender and full of flavor. I chose mild Pace Picante Salsa because I have 2 young kids who are not quite into spicy food yet. It is very quick and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
awesome recipe:) I have been making a skillet dinner similar to this for years. I vary the meat, steak, chicken or pork chops all work well and vary the picante sauce, salsa, rotel or even canned seasoned tomatoes work well. We like to use a black bean and corn salsa with chicken and a peach pineapple for chicken or pork chops
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
was a little disappointed... meat still lacked flavor. will try again though with some changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
We loved the recipe mainly as is. My only contibution was adding a can of chopped green chilies with the onions. It was perfect. I will make this often. Going to use venison next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RENDY44

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Vidor, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2011
I absolutely LOVED this recipe!!!!! You should definitely season your steak before you put it in the skillet and I also added minced garlic when I put in the onions...Delicious!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
I didn't like this recipe; the steak needed seasoning and needed longer then 2 minutes to cook..I will not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Foodie824

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
You can also was skinless chicken breast. I pound them out a little, mix Pace picante, 1-2 tbsp brown sugar and a little spicy mustard and pour over chicken and bake at 350 until done. I have also used splenda and my hubby can't tell the difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Minute Steaks with BBQ Butter Sauce

See how to make minute steaks dressed in a simple BBQ sauce.

Absolute Best Liver and Onions

This recipe will make a liver lover out of even the pickiest eater.

Beef Medallions with Fresh Horseradish Sauce

A sweet tomato salad with seared beef and a creamy, aromatic horseradish sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States