Picadillo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2004
I'm giving this a 5 because this is a great template. I guess I prefer Cuban or Mexican Picadillo. I followed directions exactly only finding that the clove spice was very overpowering even though we like clove. I was able to correct that by adding some sugar and cumin. You can subsitute the cinnamon and clove with coriander and cumin. Cubans also add raisins - which does add to the flavor! This dish is sometimes used as a filling for tacos and empanadas - it is a very flexible dish. You can make it into a stew by adding corn, etc. We enjoy this dish as much as we enjoy good old American chili. Tonite I served it with shredded cheddar cheese and sour cream on the side. Red wine or cold beer go great with it. Thanks submitter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
78 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodside, New York, USA
Living In: Linden, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2002
Very good! I made this for my husband and he loved it. To make it a little more Cuban style, I added diced potatoes and 6 chopped hard boiled eggs to it and seasoned it with a little beef bouillon and Adobo (spanish style season-all). Served with white rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHICALTNA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burtonsville, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2006
This was really great. Like others suggested, I used cumin and coriander and served it over white rice. My boyfriend already claimed the leftovers for his lunch tommorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Frederick, Maryland, USA
Living In: Crofton, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2003
LOVED this one! I scaled it back to serve 4. Also, I didn't use quite the amount of oil called for and there was no sacrifice of taste in doing so. I served this over steamed rice and had a fruit (mostly melon) salad along side. Wonderful! Will make this one again. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Eureka, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2009
DELICIOUS.....This is a nice variation to the typical Cuabn ingredients, the cinnamon and cloves gave it a nice touch though. I did add a very special ingredient which I believe made thsi dish even BETTER. I added 1/2 tbs of cumin (love cumin... gotta have cumin)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2003
We served it over baked potatoes. Good cold weather meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2011
I did not care for this. I made it to use as a filling for empanadas, and it was too sweet. I used cumin and chili powder and only half the amount of cinnamon that was called for, but I had to add half a packet of taco seasoning to make it palatable. I will most likely not make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALLYSONJANE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Groveland, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Haverhill, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2009
Use 1/2 cinnamon and cloves
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2003
It was Great! I drained and added a 14oz can of large black olives that I spilt in half when mixed in for more texture. 7 cloves of garlic but not overwhelming, for us could have put in a little more. Served with rice and was a Great left over dish better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2001
I made this recipe for my husband and myself last week. I thought it was excellent. Very nice flavor. I served it with white rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Stuffed Peppers

See how to make delicious, beefy stuffed bell peppers.

How to Eat a Hamburger

See a quick trick for eating a juicy burger without the mess!

Mini Meatloaves

Individual loaves of yummy beef, cheese, and oats are baked with a tangy glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States