Picadillo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2004
I'm giving this a 5 because this is a great template. I guess I prefer Cuban or Mexican Picadillo. I followed directions exactly only finding that the clove spice was very overpowering even though we like clove. I was able to correct that by adding some sugar and cumin. You can subsitute the cinnamon and clove with coriander and cumin. Cubans also add raisins - which does add to the flavor! This dish is sometimes used as a filling for tacos and empanadas - it is a very flexible dish. You can make it into a stew by adding corn, etc. We enjoy this dish as much as we enjoy good old American chili. Tonite I served it with shredded cheddar cheese and sour cream on the side. Red wine or cold beer go great with it. Thanks submitter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
83 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodside, New York, USA
Living In: Linden, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2002
Very good! I made this for my husband and he loved it. To make it a little more Cuban style, I added diced potatoes and 6 chopped hard boiled eggs to it and seasoned it with a little beef bouillon and Adobo (spanish style season-all). Served with white rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHICALTNA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burtonsville, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2006
This was really great. Like others suggested, I used cumin and coriander and served it over white rice. My boyfriend already claimed the leftovers for his lunch tommorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Frederick, Maryland, USA
Living In: Crofton, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2003
LOVED this one! I scaled it back to serve 4. Also, I didn't use quite the amount of oil called for and there was no sacrifice of taste in doing so. I served this over steamed rice and had a fruit (mostly melon) salad along side. Wonderful! Will make this one again. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Eureka, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2009
DELICIOUS.....This is a nice variation to the typical Cuabn ingredients, the cinnamon and cloves gave it a nice touch though. I did add a very special ingredient which I believe made thsi dish even BETTER. I added 1/2 tbs of cumin (love cumin... gotta have cumin)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2003
We served it over baked potatoes. Good cold weather meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2011
I did not care for this. I made it to use as a filling for empanadas, and it was too sweet. I used cumin and chili powder and only half the amount of cinnamon that was called for, but I had to add half a packet of taco seasoning to make it palatable. I will most likely not make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALLYSONJANE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Groveland, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Haverhill, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2009
Use 1/2 cinnamon and cloves
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2003
It was Great! I drained and added a 14oz can of large black olives that I spilt in half when mixed in for more texture. 7 cloves of garlic but not overwhelming, for us could have put in a little more. Served with rice and was a Great left over dish better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2001
I made this recipe for my husband and myself last week. I thought it was excellent. Very nice flavor. I served it with white rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Stuffed Peppers

See how to make delicious, beefy stuffed bell peppers.

How to Eat a Hamburger

See a quick trick for eating a juicy burger without the mess!

Mini Meatloaves

Individual loaves of yummy beef, cheese, and oats are baked with a tangy glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States