Picadillo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2008
I didn't have the capers and so went w/o; will try them w/ next time. DH and I really liked it. Very unique flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PJCFolbrecht

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Iowa Falls, Iowa, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2008
And that rating is saying a lot!!! My Mom was taught by my Grandma (a great Cuban cook!) how to make authentic Picadillo. I did not have her recipe handy, so I used this one. A bit much on the cloves, but not bad! Now I just need to make the black beans and rice - and it tastes like home! I'll definitely keep this recipe and use again in case I cannot find my Mom's!!! Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA
Living In: Leesburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2007
excellent and easy preparation
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2007
This was pretty good. I didn't realize until I started cooking that I was out of onions, so I just added some onion powder and we don't like olives so I left those out and it turned out pretty good. It does not look appealing at all, but tastes pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becky Gallegos

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Redmond, Washington, USA
Living In: Bellevue, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2007
I used coriander and cumin instead of cinnamon and cloves. This was ok. We tried to use it as taco meat but it just didn't go well with it. So we kind of stared at it for awhile and just decided to put it in a bowl with some cheese. I loved the olives in it!! But the texture of the capers kind of grossed me out a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2007
I served this over fried potatoes and a dollop of plain yogurt on top...my family gobbled it up. Good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleburne, Texas, USA
Living In: Burleson, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2006
Flavor-wise this recipe is absolutely fantastic. Unusual but sweet and spicy balance. I made as-is but threw in a bit more heat with some red pepper. I served it over white rice and it was good...but I think it might be better utlized as a filling for a taco/enchilada/empanada
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2006
I have always done chili, and wanted a variation - i found that this is it. i was worried about adding capers and vinagar- but was surprised how it complimented the dish. I also found that i enjoyed the cinnamon and the slight sweetness that the dish gave. Being on low carb the only thing i was careful about was the olives and the tomatoes. A very satisfying meal that you could whip up in a short amount of time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2006
This was really good. My husband literally licked his plate when I asked him if he liked it. I served it with mashed potatos. But I think it would be great if you used it as a filling for stuffed bell peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Arbuckle, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2006
Yum! Interesting blend of flavors. Left out the capers and added some raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Stuffed Peppers

See how to make delicious, beefy stuffed bell peppers.

Mini Meatloaves

Individual loaves of yummy beef, cheese, and oats are baked with a tangy glaze.

Hamburger Steak with Onions and Gravy

See how to put a simple twist on a delicious diner classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States