Picadillo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2008
Wow! I love it! I use whole cloves during the boil, then remove them. I also add about 2 Tbsp. of Goya tomato sauce with onion and garlic and an additional 1/2 tsp. of cinammon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2008
This is a great recipe and has become a staple in our house. The only alteration I make is omitting the peppers. Very, very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2008
I didn't have the capers and so went w/o; will try them w/ next time. DH and I really liked it. Very unique flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PJCFolbrecht

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Iowa Falls, Iowa, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2008
And that rating is saying a lot!!! My Mom was taught by my Grandma (a great Cuban cook!) how to make authentic Picadillo. I did not have her recipe handy, so I used this one. A bit much on the cloves, but not bad! Now I just need to make the black beans and rice - and it tastes like home! I'll definitely keep this recipe and use again in case I cannot find my Mom's!!! Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA
Living In: Leesburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2007
excellent and easy preparation
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2007
This was pretty good. I didn't realize until I started cooking that I was out of onions, so I just added some onion powder and we don't like olives so I left those out and it turned out pretty good. It does not look appealing at all, but tastes pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becky Gallegos

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Redmond, Washington, USA
Living In: Bellevue, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2007
I used coriander and cumin instead of cinnamon and cloves. This was ok. We tried to use it as taco meat but it just didn't go well with it. So we kind of stared at it for awhile and just decided to put it in a bowl with some cheese. I loved the olives in it!! But the texture of the capers kind of grossed me out a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jmama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2007
I served this over fried potatoes and a dollop of plain yogurt on top...my family gobbled it up. Good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleburne, Texas, USA
Living In: Burleson, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2006
Flavor-wise this recipe is absolutely fantastic. Unusual but sweet and spicy balance. I made as-is but threw in a bit more heat with some red pepper. I served it over white rice and it was good...but I think it might be better utlized as a filling for a taco/enchilada/empanada
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2006
I have always done chili, and wanted a variation - i found that this is it. i was worried about adding capers and vinagar- but was surprised how it complimented the dish. I also found that i enjoyed the cinnamon and the slight sweetness that the dish gave. Being on low carb the only thing i was careful about was the olives and the tomatoes. A very satisfying meal that you could whip up in a short amount of time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Stuffed Peppers

See how to make delicious, beefy stuffed bell peppers.

How to Eat a Hamburger

See a quick trick for eating a juicy burger without the mess!

Mini Meatloaves

Individual loaves of yummy beef, cheese, and oats are baked with a tangy glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States