Picadillo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Catherine Price
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2014
Great recipe. I totally do my own thing in the kitchen but I followed it pretty closely MINUS THE OLIVES (and cloves) and it came out yummy. It's quite different. Kinda almost sweet but not overly so. Go easy on the cinnamon! I only put a sprinkle. I served it over buttered white rice and it was a great dinner. I could totally see using it inside empanadas or flautas. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Catherine Price

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2014
The recipe as written is decent, but not as palatable as I would like for it to be. I added 1 tbs of cumin, doubled the salt, added maybe 1/2 tsp of adobo seasoning and threw in some corn. Decent quick meal, but not extraordinary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nyequita Destiny Smith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2013
i wanted to make this for dinner one night and my mom immediately started thinking of different things she could make for herself to eat. once i started making it, she was drawn in by the smell and gave it a try. she actually went back for seconds and asked for the recipe to give her friends. she also took the leftovers for lunch the next day! my family LOVED it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OrkyZ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2013
Had this in a homemade tortilla bowl, mMmM! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ilikefrenchies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2013
This has become a regular dish at our house. I put raisins and diced potatoes in mine and use cumin instead of the cinnamon and cloves. Also, I use a can of tomato paste and red wine for the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ScooterMom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2012
I thought this was a nice foundation to picadillo but made some minor adjustments. First off, I scaled it back to a serving of 4. Once I saw the new measurements, I scaled back the cinnamon and cloves to 1/8 of a tsp. instead of the 1/4 tsp it called for. I knew it would be too much due to their overwhelming flavor. I left out the olives and capers mainly because I didn't have any on hand. I added some pure annatto seed, ground, about 1/4 tsp, and 1/4 tsp of Mexican oregano, and cumin. I scaled back the tomato sauce to 1 1/2 cups and added a half cup of beer. Beer is very typical in chicken and yellow rice so why not in picadillo. I served it over white rice and thought it turned out pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Charlee05

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2012
Excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
This dish would be great without the cinnamon and cloves. I just made it following the recipe exactly and it tasted like a pumpkin pie was mixed in it-now I'm stuck with a horrible meal that the family has to eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
Really inventive and easy picadillo recipe. Not the traditional Cuban version, but equally delicious, and I am Cuban. I made this with ground turkey instead of beef. I didn't have capers, so I decided to toss in some mild bottled pepperocini I had on hand instead. It was delicious and not too spicy. The aroma of this dish while cooking was so unique, my cat actually jumped on the counter to see what I was making, lol.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2011
I did not care for this. I made it to use as a filling for empanadas, and it was too sweet. I used cumin and chili powder and only half the amount of cinnamon that was called for, but I had to add half a packet of taco seasoning to make it palatable. I will most likely not make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALLYSONJANE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Groveland, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Haverhill, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Stuffed Peppers

See how to make delicious, beefy stuffed bell peppers.

How to Eat a Hamburger

See a quick trick for eating a juicy burger without the mess!

Mini Meatloaves

Individual loaves of yummy beef, cheese, and oats are baked with a tangy glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States