Picadillo de Platano Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2015
Very good combination of meat fruit and vegetables. This is a recipe that I will 'tweak' in the future possibly using garlic on the meat in place of the sauces previously mentioned. The plantains were very good after being boiled in water. I will probably try separating the ingredients once it cooked on everyone's plate. Possibly putting honey and coconut on the plantains.-----Joe Wheels
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kearny, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Brick, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2013
This was great! I used yellow with a lot of black on them plantains and fried them in a cast iron skillet with some oil instead of cooking them in water. I did everything else as is. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2011
We only had 2 plantains, and I used 1 lb. of ground beef. It was very tasty. I'd make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by greenthumb

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2011
I brought my Tex-Mex flair in to brighten this dish up a bit. Sub jalapeños for hot sauce, put in extra veggies and herbs, and only used a quarter of the indicated amount of plantain. I used slightly more beef, and added fresh cilantro to sit on top after cooking. This will be perfect for soft tacos!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2010
Delicious!! I was so happy to see this here! I grew up with this dish but never learned how to make it. I followed it to the tee, just replaced worshtire sauce with SALSA LIZANO from Costa Rica. Nothing but raves when I make this!!! Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Hoozky

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
My family is from Costa Rica and this is great! I just closed my eyes and felt like I was home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
The first plantain recipe I've found that my wife will eat. I didn't have any cilantro on hand sadly, but I added some cumin and ginger to make up for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stannius

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2007
This hit the spot!! I decided to double the recipe (all expcept the plantains) so I can use all the ground beef. It didn't seem like it was enough beef but then the title did say "Platano". Next time, I use more plantains. I can see why the previous poster added bell peppers and cumin. I think I will try that next time. Don't skimp on the cilantro, in fact, add a little more. Cilantro really brings out the flavors in this dish. I will certainly try this again, maybe serve it with white rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Santa Clara, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2006
This is a great recipe, but I add a little cummin, oregano and green peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pico de Gallo

See how to make a simple and super-fresh Mexican salsa.

Salsa de Tomatillo

A simple, authentic green salsa with tomatillos, onions, cilantro, and garlic.

Cinco de Mayo Salsa Cruda

See Chef Juan’s secret recipe for Cinco de Mayo-worthy homemade salsa cruda.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States