Picadillo (Cuban Beef Hash) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2014
Very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2011
Loved it, always add extra olives ... I also combine this recipe and the one from http://icuban.com/food/picadillo.html (leave out tomato sauce, use fresh tomatoes, leave out garlic salt & adobo and use cinnamon & cumin, oregano & little clove) actually I guess I use the "3 Guys" recipe but I love adding the olive brine to it! Anyway, this is the 2nd time I've made it in two weeks and we all love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillymo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2011
Just made this for my boyfriend and I. He pleaded to have another plate full. The taste was great but definitely cut back on the brine if you dont it to be too salty. I served with white rice and fried plantains. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2010
I made this especially for my boyfriend because when ever we go out to our favorite Cuban restaurant he always orders Picadillo, and I myself enjoy it as well. However i found that the end results was a failure in the taste department for me. It just taste way to much like olives, and rather bland at the same time. My boyfriend did love it and ate it all-included the leftovers that I didn't want anymore-...If I do make this again i plan on seasoning the ground beef the way i always do which is always flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lolita89

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2009
This was excellent and very similar to my Cuban family's dish. We don't use raisins in our picadillo. This dish is served over white or brown rice. Usually a side dish for this Cuban dish is Yuca, fried plaintains, black beans or a Cuban tamale which is different than a Mexican tamale. If you don't think it has enough flavor, you can alway add more spices to it. I usually put some Tony Chachere's seasoning or chopped up jalopenos or cilantro in my Picadillo to give it a little flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2008
Nice, but traditional Picadillo always includes raisins! This dish is traditionally served over hot white rice, with a side of fried plantains and black beans. Cubans do not eat tacos, folks, so please don't put picadillo in tacos and tortillas! Remember that cooking among Spanish speaking cultures varies widely! Cuban food is rather mild, with carribbean influences--have an open mind and try it as it was meant to be served!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Susan May
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2008
I served this with tortillas as another reviewer recommended. Even loaded with tomato, cheese, lettuce, and sour cream the overwhelming flavor of green olive could not be covered up enough to make this edible. My not very picky husband quit eating it after just a few bites. I think you need to be a green olive lover to enjoy this dish, and I guess we don't fit that mold. Sadly, the leftovers went into the trash. Supper ended up being Mexican Rice II and chips. I do recommend Mexican Rice II. Restaurant quality! N * R
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan May

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Winter Ivy
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2008
This N*R choice was pretty good. The only change I made was to omit the garlic salt and double the garlic powder like someone else suggested. It was still very salty! We ate it over rice which helped a little with the saltiness. We also thought it was begging for some heat...but don't know how "authentic" Cuban that would make it. I think this would be better with the omission of the garlic salt, half the olive brine to make it less salty. I made the whole recipe and it makes ALOT so would be a very good recipe for a potluck or to freeze for quick meals. N*R
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Winter Ivy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harpswell, Maine, USA
Living In: Augusta, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2008
This was pretty good. I made tacos out of it and everyone enjoyed, even my 5 year old. N*R.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ambibambi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2008
I'm just getting up from the dinner table after eating this. It is really, really good and a different way to use ground beef (which is always a challange for me) I think this could be salty for some folks and I omited the garlic salt and doubled the garlic powder. I had to make my own adobo seasoning and I think next time I would omit the salt out of that. The olive brine gives this plenty of salty flavor. After putting the tomatoe sauce in and looking at the meat mixture I decided to give up on putting it in a tortilla and making rice instead. My daughter thought it was tasty and she is the picky one. Thanks for sharing the recipe. Oh, one more thing I halved the recipe for 1lb of ground beef but noticed that the recipe did not make an exception for the amount of tomatoe sauce. Using a 28oz can of tomatoe sauce with 1lb of ground beef would have made soup. N*R
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SWEETJAM

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Corned Beef Hash

See how to make a simple, top-rated corned beef hash.

Slow-Braised Beef and Cherry Tomato Sauce

Watch Chef John prepare a sensational long-simmering meat sauce.

How to Make Corned Beef Hash

See how to make corned beef hash with the perfect crispy crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States