Picadillo (Cuban Beef Hash) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2014
Love this recipe! I cut back the olive brine to 1/4 cup and used crushed tomatoes in place of tomato sauce and it turned out absolutely delicious. Served with white rice and black beans. I will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yvonne

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Buena Park, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2009
This was excellent and very similar to my Cuban family's dish. We don't use raisins in our picadillo. This dish is served over white or brown rice. Usually a side dish for this Cuban dish is Yuca, fried plaintains, black beans or a Cuban tamale which is different than a Mexican tamale. If you don't think it has enough flavor, you can alway add more spices to it. I usually put some Tony Chachere's seasoning or chopped up jalopenos or cilantro in my Picadillo to give it a little flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2011
Loved it, always add extra olives ... I also combine this recipe and the one from http://icuban.com/food/picadillo.html (leave out tomato sauce, use fresh tomatoes, leave out garlic salt & adobo and use cinnamon & cumin, oregano & little clove) actually I guess I use the "3 Guys" recipe but I love adding the olive brine to it! Anyway, this is the 2nd time I've made it in two weeks and we all love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillymo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by michellej
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2008
Oh my gosh! We loved this! I cooked it down a little more so we could have it on flour tortillas, basically made tacos out of it. I will be making this again and again! N*R
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by michellej
Living In: Lawrenceville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2008
N*R. This was ok, a little salty, but a good fast dish with lots of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by prell2k4

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Sterling, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2008
Nice, but traditional Picadillo always includes raisins! This dish is traditionally served over hot white rice, with a side of fried plantains and black beans. Cubans do not eat tacos, folks, so please don't put picadillo in tacos and tortillas! Remember that cooking among Spanish speaking cultures varies widely! Cuban food is rather mild, with carribbean influences--have an open mind and try it as it was meant to be served!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2008
This was pretty good. I made tacos out of it and everyone enjoyed, even my 5 year old. N*R.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ambibambi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2014
Very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2011
Just made this for my boyfriend and I. He pleaded to have another plate full. The taste was great but definitely cut back on the brine if you dont it to be too salty. I served with white rice and fried plantains. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2008
I'm just getting up from the dinner table after eating this. It is really, really good and a different way to use ground beef (which is always a challange for me) I think this could be salty for some folks and I omited the garlic salt and doubled the garlic powder. I had to make my own adobo seasoning and I think next time I would omit the salt out of that. The olive brine gives this plenty of salty flavor. After putting the tomatoe sauce in and looking at the meat mixture I decided to give up on putting it in a tortilla and making rice instead. My daughter thought it was tasty and she is the picky one. Thanks for sharing the recipe. Oh, one more thing I halved the recipe for 1lb of ground beef but noticed that the recipe did not make an exception for the amount of tomatoe sauce. Using a 28oz can of tomatoe sauce with 1lb of ground beef would have made soup. N*R
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SWEETJAM

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow-Braised Beef and Cherry Tomato Sauce

Watch Chef John prepare a sensational long-simmering meat sauce.

Corned Beef Hash

See how to make a simple, top-rated corned beef hash.

How to Make Corned Beef Hash

See how to make corned beef hash with the perfect crispy crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States