Piadina Romagnola (Italian Flat Bread) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2014
I just made these and followed the recipe except I used sour cream instead of Greek yogurt...only had blueberry Greek yogurt. I was a little concerned about the stickiness of the dough but I floured the board well and had no problem rolling. I lightly oiled my old pan before each bread and they all turned out lovely. Having flat bread pizza tonight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2014
does anyone think that gluten free flour can be used here instead of the all purpose flour........have just started being more conscious of my consumption of all purpose type of flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Buckwheat Queen
Reviewed: May 8, 2014
Fantastic piadine. I have made three different batches of these (actually halving the recipe each time) each time using butter instead of margarine. The first time, indeed was too salty for me especially seeing that they get filled with salumi (deli meats) and cheeses that are already very savoury. The second batch I put a pinch of salt and they were great. Definitely, as reviewed before, a forgivable dough. All the ratios seem to be right on. Then I made a gluten free version replacing the flour with 3/4 of the total flour quantity for gluten free all purpose flour and 1/4 gluten free whole grain flour. I then added 1 tsp xanthan gum. Once cooked they are bendable, soft and delicious. I have posted my picture of the gluten free version with bresaola, rucola and parmigiano reggiano shavings and "un filo d'olio" which is just a touch of fresh olive oil. Living in Italy it seems strange that I would make these at home, but I prefer to make food from scratch for my kids nor can I find a good gluten free version. Yum!!!! Thank you Max for this recipe. Will be making these always.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Buckwheat Queen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2013
These are a family favorite, they have entered into the weekly cooking rotation haha!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
We love this bread - this is a great recipe and I've found the dough to be very forgiving. If it's a little too sticky, just flour your countertop and rolling pin a little more than usual. We eat this with homemade hummus and baba ganoush. Love it! Thank you for posting this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2012
This is a wonderful, fool proof flat bread recipe. I made it with my students. Needless to say anything... The only ingredient I replaced was the Greek yogurt with regular, traditional one, since here in Petropolis, Rio de Janeiro, I couldn't find the Greek kind. Thank you so very much for sharing. I love Allrecipes website!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2012
My daughter and I made it today. It was really good. We substituted margarine for the butter and we didn't have any Greek Yogurt, so we used sour cream instead. Needless to say, it came out perfect. We also did an experiment and rolled shredded cheese into the last dough ball. It was great as well. Try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Natalka

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2012
A wonderful, easy recipe. Have made it three times now and my family loves it! I replace yogurt with sour cream because we eat our yogurt too fast. Will make again and again. Thanks so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2011
Very good flatbread that is in the permanent rotation in our household. I sub butter for the margarine, since margarine is so salty and just not good for you... also a stick of margarine hasn't graced my kitchen in 20 years.. LOL! I sometimes add a bit of minced garlic to the milk mixture as well a few dried herbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Legomom

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2011
I made the piadina as written (except I used butter instead of margarine) and it turned out great! I actually warmed the milk/yogurt/butter mixture because the butter was too hard, but it made it very easy to mix together. The consistency was great--just added a touch of water. I didn't have a rolling pin, so mine turned out smaller and thicker than normal. It's been years since I had piadina from Italy, so I can't say whether it tastes truly authentic or not, but I think it was pretty close. Thanks :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Focaccia di Recco (Italian Flatbread)

See how to make an amazing cheese-filled Italian flatbread.

Chef John's Rustic Italian Corn Bread

See how to make a rustic Italian cornbread.

Italian Bread Bowls

See how to make homemade bread bowls for soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States