Phyl's Salsa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2008
My mom and I spent HOURS in the kitchen preparing this recipe that she thought would be fantastic (based on such good reviews). Guess what? No better than any old store-bought jar of salsa, and if you don't think your salsa should have a sweet taste, it's not even as good. I'll stick to fresh tomatoes, garlic, onions, jalapenos, lime juice and cilantro. It's never failed me, and all my guests love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2004
Excellent recipe! Just like mom makes haha!! Fantastic taste and nice chunky texture. Way better than store bought. I love how easy it is to accomodate everyone's taste; you can make it hotter or milder just by varying the types and amount of peppers used. The jars store well and last a very long time. I make this recipe all the time. It is a healthy low fat condiment that goes well on everything from scrambled eggs to hot dogs. Well done KB CountryGirl!! ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MinxyBaby

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Thunder Bay, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kingston, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2008
Very good salsa, but VERY important note: let the salsa sit in the jars for several days before opening. I opened a jar the day after canning and my first impression was "ok". I opened another jar 5 days later, and let me tell you, the flavors really came out. I don't know if waiting longer than 5 days helps, I ate it all within a week!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2009
Excellent! I only make 3 pints at a time as to change it up a bit. Sometimes I add lime,only add jalapenos or eliminate this or that. The vinegar and italian seasonings are the key. I always use fresh tomatoes, never canned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Hickman, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2007
This was so easy to make(time consuming, but easy). I doubled the recipe, and added 3 TBSP. dried cilanto, 2 cloves of garlic, and I used whatever hot peppers, sweet peppers and onions I had in my garden. So good, and doubling the recipe gave me 11 quarts of salsa. I might drain the tomatoes even more than I did next time, because it was a bit watery, but I don't mind it that way. I used my pressure canner and canned it at 10 pounds for 30 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Farmingville, New York, USA
Living In: Geneseo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2006
This was very good! We cut the recipe in half. I would add one or two more jalapenos next time because it wasn't hot enough for us. Couldn't find banana peppers so I substituted with tomatillos and added a few garlic cloves and cilantro. I Forgot to mix the corn starch w/H2O before adding, so we had some corn starch flavor crystals occasionally. Also, we thought it was a tad sweet so we will omit the brown sugar the next time we make this. Bueno salsa! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LetyPat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Midway City, California, USA
Living In: Portola Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2008
Ok, so I think I ate about half a jar while making this! I will never buy store bought salsa again. I halved the recipe, it made 4 mason jars full. I used the called for amount of jalapenos, plus threw in some seeds. Also used a serrano pepper with some seeds, just the right amount of spice. I found I did need the cornstarch to thicken things up at the end. I also added 1/2 cup fresh cilantro towards the end, what can I say, I love cilantro. I will make this again and again. Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2008
Taste wise it's pretty good, ours is fairly hot after one day. The consistency reminds me of a Pace picante sauce I think, I tend to like my salsas a little more chunky/fresh. Next time we won't drain the tomatoes and may do even more fresh tomatoes to see if that doesn't come to a middle ground. Might even remove the tomatoe sauce all together from the recipe. It was easy to make, the longest part was just waiting for it to simmer down.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2007
Every fall I make this salsa and beause our tastes are turning to 'hotter' foods, I have increased the peppers to include Habanjero peppers as well as Tai peppers to increase the heat. Also, I increase the number of jalepeno peppers. This works well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KB COUNTRYGIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Thunder Bay, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2010
This salsa was the first I've made and I was disappointed that it wasn't very spicy. I suggest adding more garlic and peppers. I used cilantro because my family loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

The Best Fresh Tomato Salsa

See how to make a simple fresh salsa from scratch.

Spicy Bean Salsa

This spicy salsa stars black beans, corn, and a tangy dressing.

How to Make Rockin' Salsa

See how to make amazing homemade tomato and hot pepper salsa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States