Phyl's Salsa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2004
Excellent recipe! Just like mom makes haha!! Fantastic taste and nice chunky texture. Way better than store bought. I love how easy it is to accomodate everyone's taste; you can make it hotter or milder just by varying the types and amount of peppers used. The jars store well and last a very long time. I make this recipe all the time. It is a healthy low fat condiment that goes well on everything from scrambled eggs to hot dogs. Well done KB CountryGirl!! ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MinxyBaby

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Thunder Bay, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kingston, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2004
This recipe is excellent. I used three green peppers instead of two green and one red. I also used a can of mild green chilis instead of the Anaheim chili peppers. It turned out great, but be prepared to share if you aren't canning, it makes a lot of salsa!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2004
Very good recipe!!! I did add a few cloves of chopped garlic. I found that I didn't need to add the cornstarch mixture to thicken it was perfect as is for us. It does make quite a bit of salsa, but I froze most of it in small quantities for later use. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Bellevue, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2004
very good i added olive oil
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2005
I am very happy to have found this recipe. It has been a great hit. I only have 2 quarts left out of 10 thant I made in October. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elk Point, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Loveland, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2005
I roasted the onion and peppers in a 400 degree oven for 15 minutes, also omitted the banana pepper, and added 1/4 cup chopped cilantro. It was delicious and everyone raved about it-also did not need to thicken it with the cornstarch, had to thin it with a little water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2005
This is a great recipe! It's exactly what I was looking for! I chopped my veggies very very tiny and almost pureed my tomatoes. I like my salsy very smooth! I also upped the brown sugar to 3T to make it al ittle sweeter! The only thing I would do differently next time is add an extra jalapeno!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2005
this recipe is GREAT, just as long as you don't cook it too long. I simmered mine a bit too long and it ended up tasting like chili by the time it was done! It was excellent as we were taste testing it earlier!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by peeper burger

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2005
Wow! We have tried to find the perfect salsa recipe and this is it for us. The only change (very minor) would be to use half the chili powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Homeward Hearts

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2005
I will probably make this again, but use less sugar next time as it turned out a bit sweet for my taste. I will also definately include the seeds of the chilli peppers next time as it was not as spicy as I would have liked it when I left them out. I only simmered it for one half hour as I like my salsa more pico de gallo style.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DEARSTARLA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Fresh Tomato Salsa

See how to make a simple fresh salsa from scratch.

Spicy Bean Salsa

This spicy salsa stars black beans, corn, and a tangy dressing.

Salsa de Tomatillo

A simple, authentic green salsa with tomatillos, onions, cilantro, and garlic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States