Phyllo-Wrapped Halibut Fillets with Lemon Scallion Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2007
My family can't wait to eat this again - what a delicious way to eat halibut! The only changes I made were to use half & half instead of whipping cream and less lemon juice. I used the rest of my phyllo dough package to make dessert: spray a muffin pan with Pam & take one phyllo dough folded into 4ths molding it into the pan - spray again and repeat, alternating the direction of the dough, using 4 sheets per cup. Then sprinkle with cinnamon & sugar & bake. Makes cute dessert cups for fruit with whipped cream, or whatever! A nice dessert with this dish. I saw the recipe somewhere on here, but can't find it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer C.
Home Town: Plymouth, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Minnetonka, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2007
So good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by codyanne

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2006
This is a fantastic recipe! I used pollock instead of halibut and it tasted really good as well. It was my first time using phyllo, so I didn't know what to expect of the crust, and it kept breaking apart on me. I had to "improvise" by adding several layers of phyllo and "patched" it so that the fish was entirely wrapped. In the end it looked great and tasted wonderful too. I will certainly make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Petaling Jaya, Selangor, Malaysia
Living In: La Grange Park, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2007
Beautiful Dish! I didn't have any butter so I used olive oil instead. Tasted great but didn't brown very well. I would love to hear any other suggestions on sauces. Second entry: Made this again with thin strips of Chicken breast. I was nervous that it would dry out. It didn't and it was awesome! I cooked it a little longer to be safe. Next time I will put cubes of chicken rather than strips so that it is easier to eat. We can't decide which we like better- salmon or chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2007
...without question, one of the best recipes on allrecipes.com. It should read "******", I love all types of seafood dishes and this is my absolute favorite. Only a couple of changes, mix 2 tsp of cold water with 2 tsp cornstarch to thicken the lemon sauce once completed and we found the best results with fresh Haddock. You must try this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jonnyd523

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2007
Absolutely wonderful!!!! The sauce didn't look like it would be very good, but it was perfect! Served with a side of brown rice and steamed broccoli. Just wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2007
A delicious and easy way to cook fish. It was cooked perfectly! Next time I'll try with a different sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2007
What a great presentation! My husband was skeptical while I was preparing this dish but we both agree it was great! Take the advice of other reviewers and let the lemon juice evaporate as much as possible to keep it from being as strong. This is a terrific way to cook the Alaskan Halibut in my freezer. Thanks for such a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2007
This was so fun to make! Definitely a good and EASY Sunday dinner. I made some changes: For the filling, I mixed some chopped up (RAW) chicken, 2 tsp of minced garlic, some dill, salt and pepper and some of the chopped scallions. The raw chopped chicken mixture cooks in 15 minutes like the halibut and is very moist. For the sauce, I only put in half the lemon and I chopped a small shallot for the sauce,plus the scallions, salt, pepper and cream. YUM! My husband (who is very picky) absolutely loved it. A word about the sauce, I was reading other reviews that people are boiling it longer to lose the lemon flavor. This will not lessen the flavor, it just ensures that the cream doesn't curdle or is too runny. If you don't like a really tart/lemony sauce, I would reduce the amount of lemon juice to 1 1/2 TBS and boil it down like the recipes states. Don't boil too long or you will scorch the lemon and have a burnt tasting cream sauce. Also, for those who have never used phyllo - its FUN! Don't read the directions on the box, they are too daunting and not necessary. Just thaw the phyllo overnight and take out as many sheets as you need (make sure you have all the ingredients ready though). Lay the phyllo down like a sheet of paper "landscape"-wise (like a piece of paper). Brush up and down with butter, if you brush left to right, you will rip the pieces. But if you do rip the pieces, you can't even tell after they bake. Thanks for the easy and elegant recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
126 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2007
I make this recipe almost every time I have halibut. It is so good! It is also very easy, and it impresses your guests. After the first time, I began adding more and more dill-the flavor is so nice. I think I probably ended up with 1.5 tsp. per packet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 128) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pan-Roasted Halibut with Mushroom Butter Sauce

Halibut fillets are pan-roasted with mushrooms in a simple lemon butter sauce.

Baked Lemon Chicken with Mushroom Sauce

See how to make lemony chicken served with a savory mushroom sauce.

Hudson’s Baked Tilapia with Dill Sauce

See how to make simple baked tilapia with a creamy dill sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States