Phyllo-Wrapped Halibut Fillets with Lemon Scallion Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2007
This was so fun to make! Definitely a good and EASY Sunday dinner. I made some changes: For the filling, I mixed some chopped up (RAW) chicken, 2 tsp of minced garlic, some dill, salt and pepper and some of the chopped scallions. The raw chopped chicken mixture cooks in 15 minutes like the halibut and is very moist. For the sauce, I only put in half the lemon and I chopped a small shallot for the sauce,plus the scallions, salt, pepper and cream. YUM! My husband (who is very picky) absolutely loved it. A word about the sauce, I was reading other reviews that people are boiling it longer to lose the lemon flavor. This will not lessen the flavor, it just ensures that the cream doesn't curdle or is too runny. If you don't like a really tart/lemony sauce, I would reduce the amount of lemon juice to 1 1/2 TBS and boil it down like the recipes states. Don't boil too long or you will scorch the lemon and have a burnt tasting cream sauce. Also, for those who have never used phyllo - its FUN! Don't read the directions on the box, they are too daunting and not necessary. Just thaw the phyllo overnight and take out as many sheets as you need (make sure you have all the ingredients ready though). Lay the phyllo down like a sheet of paper "landscape"-wise (like a piece of paper). Brush up and down with butter, if you brush left to right, you will rip the pieces. But if you do rip the pieces, you can't even tell after they bake. Thanks for the easy and elegant recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
125 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2007
My family can't wait to eat this again - what a delicious way to eat halibut! The only changes I made were to use half & half instead of whipping cream and less lemon juice. I used the rest of my phyllo dough package to make dessert: spray a muffin pan with Pam & take one phyllo dough folded into 4ths molding it into the pan - spray again and repeat, alternating the direction of the dough, using 4 sheets per cup. Then sprinkle with cinnamon & sugar & bake. Makes cute dessert cups for fruit with whipped cream, or whatever! A nice dessert with this dish. I saw the recipe somewhere on here, but can't find it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer C.
Home Town: Plymouth, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Minnetonka, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2008
I would have given this recipe 5 stars except for the sauce. Both my husband and I thought it ruined the flavor of the phyllo wrapped fish. We live in Alaska and catch all our own fish so we make this often using a variety of spices. Play around with the spices and we also make it with every kind of fish possible; cod, salmon, king mackrell, red drum, sea bass and more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KrazyKristi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kenai, Alaska, USA
Living In: Ketchikan, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2008
I must have made 50 dinners from allrecipes.com and this is my first review. It was without a doubt the best recipe yet! I made two small changes. To cut way down on the fat, I used CoolWhip instead of whipping cream. I mixed it first to make it more liquidy. Came out awesome! Also, for the lemon juice, I juiced a fresh lemon (you can squeeze or press it) since it's such an important part of the meal. The sauce was delicious this way and had much less fat! I made a little extra of it and poured it on some steamed vegetables, which accompanied the meal nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2007
...without question, one of the best recipes on allrecipes.com. It should read "******", I love all types of seafood dishes and this is my absolute favorite. Only a couple of changes, mix 2 tsp of cold water with 2 tsp cornstarch to thicken the lemon sauce once completed and we found the best results with fresh Haddock. You must try this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jonnyd523

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2007
Very easy and impressive recipe! I haven't had much experience using dill, but I really liked the flavor. I think next time I would even use more. The lemon flavor of the sauce was a little too strong, so I added a little more cream and some Parmesan cheese to cut the flavor. It was absolutely delicious. Thanks so much for a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suemck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plaistow, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Amesbury, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2008
This really is an impressive recipe for a dinner party. Atop the lemon sauce the wrapped halibut made a very special presentation, and my guests all enjoyed it. With so many reviews referring to "to strong of a lemon flavor," I decided to use only 1/2 cup lemon juice for 8 servings, and followed the rest of the recipe as stated. Really delicious, pretty easy, and great results. Afterwards, I felt like a chef! A good one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chibiharuka

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2010
Amazing! I followed the recipe except to the sauce I added a bit of white wine and some parmesan. Next time I would make a bit more sauce. Served with asparagus, roasted cauliflower and brown basmati rice. A 6 star dinner for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2006
Unbelievably good! Got rave reviews, better than at a restaurant, the phyllo gives it a nice twist, the sauce was to die for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2007
This was so Good! It is a great alternative to some of the heavier halibut dishes. The sauce was a little more lemonly that I would have liked but my boyfriend LOVED IT! I also added a little bit of white wine to the sauce. Will definalty make again, and again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 127) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pan-Roasted Halibut with Mushroom Butter Sauce

Halibut fillets are pan-roasted with mushrooms in a simple lemon butter sauce.

Baked Lemon Chicken with Mushroom Sauce

See how to make lemony chicken served with a savory mushroom sauce.

Hudson’s Baked Tilapia with Dill Sauce

See how to make simple baked tilapia with a creamy dill sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States