Phyllo-Wrapped Halibut Fillets with Lemon Scallion Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2010
As expected- i made a few changes, I by mistake only brought one package of phyllo, which only has 2 sheets. I easily fixed the issue with just rolling out the dough, creating more layers. It was a super easy recipe. I doubled the sauce recipe and served it on angle hair (i also added some garlic)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by strayredbolt

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
This was ok - the recipe sounded better than it was. I followed the recipe exactly and while presentation was nice, the lemon sauce was very thin and VERY lemon-y for our taste. I'm glad I tried it, but I probably won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kelcampbell

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Smiths Falls, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kemptville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
LOVE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
Halibut is typically mild and can dry out easily when baking. We readily have available fresh pacific northwest halibut and I get tired of the same ol' dill/mayo/butter recipes. This one was A KEEPER! What a great way to keep in the moisture, and add an alternative flavor. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crumbs

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2009
My first time ever using phyllo dough. I was a bit hesitant but all recipes I've tried from this site has yet to disappoint me. I rescaled the ingredients for 8, didn't make any other changes and it is absolutely delicious. Eight was our original guest list, we ended up having 12, but it was still enough to go around. I also made an aioli (also from allrecipes) it too did not disappoint. Thank you and keep 'em coming !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2009
This has to be one of my favorite recipes on this site; we'd have it more often if it weren't so expensive and if halibut didn't have such a high mercury content. It is delightfully elegant and yet deceptively simple. It took some practice to get accustomed to working with phyllo but the results are worth the effort. The phyllo is light and flaky out of the oven and soaks up the sauce wonderfully. It also holds all the fish's moisture it, so the end result is very moist. Unless you allow the dough to start getting very dark, I think this one might make it almost impossible to overcook. I've made this several times as written, but I've recently started exchanging the heavy cream for evaporated milk. The texture is not quite as creamy, but the amount of fat in the meal is significantly reduced, which I think is worth it. I also reduce the lemon juice very, very slowly. I've boiled it down too fast already and the result was a bitter sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy Stauffer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Womelsdorf, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2009
Pretty good! I love the sauce, but the texture of the phyllo wasn't my favorite... maybe I did something wrong?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by REBECCADK

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Westfield, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2009
This was really really good! We both loved the combination of the textures of the fish and phyllo. Also, I subbed salmon fillets and it was wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tina C.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Darmstadt, Hessen, Germany
Living In: Parrish, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2009
This was almost perfect. Spouse thought lemon sauce was too thin and too lemony. I will adjust next time, and there WILL be a next time! I used cod, as halibut was way too pricy this time of year. It was wonderful. I baked it for 16 mins as it needed just a little more cook time. It is amazing, and the fish turns out perfectly. Not overdone. I also used Montreal Steak seasoning ( I know it is supposed to be for steak)for my fish instead of pepper. I got the idea from a recipe from Rachel Ray to make salmon burgers,and it really perked up the cod and gave it a little more personality.So for those of you who found the seasoning a little bland, try it. It doesn't overpower the fish. This dish would be perfect for a dinner party for the boss. It is that elegant and impressive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Berea, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2009
wow! i really like an intense lemon flavor, so 3tbsp was perfect for me. phyllo always makes something seem impressive, but it was SO easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 129) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pan-Roasted Halibut with Mushroom Butter Sauce

Halibut fillets are pan-roasted with mushrooms in a simple lemon butter sauce.

Salmon with Lemon and Dill

Ideal pairing of salmon with butter sauce, dill and lemon.

Baked Lemon Chicken with Mushroom Sauce

See how to make lemony chicken served with a savory mushroom sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States