Phyllo-Wrapped Halibut Fillets with Lemon Scallion Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2008
I must have made 50 dinners from allrecipes.com and this is my first review. It was without a doubt the best recipe yet! I made two small changes. To cut way down on the fat, I used CoolWhip instead of whipping cream. I mixed it first to make it more liquidy. Came out awesome! Also, for the lemon juice, I juiced a fresh lemon (you can squeeze or press it) since it's such an important part of the meal. The sauce was delicious this way and had much less fat! I made a little extra of it and poured it on some steamed vegetables, which accompanied the meal nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2008
Holy cow!! Can you say yummy! We really enjoyed this. The sauce went so well with the crispy phyllo wrapping. I need to make this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2008
Very good recipe ! A couple things ...make sure that you use the amount of phyllo dough listed in the recipe...dont be like me and throw a couple more sheets on for more cripsness. Takes the fish a little longer to cook and you run the rish of over cooking the fish. Mine turned out awesome, the hubby loved it ...went for seconds ! Will make again !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Langley, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Smithers, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2008
I've been searching this website for a couple years now and I've never become a member. Honestly, this is the recipe that did it! This was so good and easy. The phyllo dough adds a great texture and compliments the fish well. Um, I did change a few things ONLY because I forgot to get dill...I used the "It's a Dilly" spice blend by McCormick (I think). Other than that, I agree with some other posters that the lemon could be overpowering in the sauce but it worked well with the dill and I liked it a lot and my finicky boyfriend didn't even mention it (I get blamed for occasionally over seasoning things). Thanks for such a great recipe...the phyllo dough really was fun to cook with!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2008
Awesome! So quick and easy. (I forgot to add the dill to the halibut - just added it into the sauce!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2008
This was really good. The phyllo and fish were really tasty. We didn't care much for the sauce...not sure if I did something wrong...but I made it twice and both times the texture was a little creepy...good flavor, though. Might forego it next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Elexa
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2008
This recipe was great. My one recommendation is make sure to use fillets instead of steaks, and check for all bones first. It was difficult to find bones due to the phyllo texture. I found the sauce to be a great addition and made it per the recipe, despite other reviews saying it was to much lemon. My boyfriend gave it a great review too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2008
This was a very good recipe. I had never used phyllo before and was very excited to do so. It was easy and the flavor was great! I wouldn't change a thing. In fact, I'm going to try it with chicken next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2008
I would have given this recipe 5 stars except for the sauce. Both my husband and I thought it ruined the flavor of the phyllo wrapped fish. We live in Alaska and catch all our own fish so we make this often using a variety of spices. Play around with the spices and we also make it with every kind of fish possible; cod, salmon, king mackrell, red drum, sea bass and more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KrazyKristi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kenai, Alaska, USA
Living In: Ketchikan, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2008
I couldn't find phyllo dough anywhere at my local store, so I substituted it with the Pillsbury crescents and rolled the fish up in those and they came out great. Loved this recipe and the sauce was a perfect touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maya

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 127) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Pan-Roasted Halibut with Mushroom Butter Sauce

Halibut fillets are pan-roasted with mushrooms in a simple lemon butter sauce.

Baked Lemon Chicken with Mushroom Sauce

See how to make lemony chicken served with a savory mushroom sauce.

Hudson’s Baked Tilapia with Dill Sauce

See how to make simple baked tilapia with a creamy dill sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States