Phyllo Turnovers with Shrimp and Ricotta Filling Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2008
not too flavorful. i would add basil or thyme to the filling. or maybe try it with chicken instead. not bad as a base filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2008
They were good, but a lot of work. I couldn't get them to look like they were in the pictures so that's why I didn't give them 4 stars. My husband & I loved them, but I would hesitate to make for company because they didn't come out "pretty".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gretcheepoo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hammond, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2008
I prepared the shrimp mixture for a party, but there was too much food, so instead I saved the shrimp mixture and tossed it with pasta the next day. It was awesome! It was so good I made up little containers for others to try. I will be making this again for pasta - I can't wait to try it with the phyllo though!! It must be amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2008
It was okay, not bad. At first I wasn't sure about the folding methods, then I realized to fold the dough exactly like you would a 'paper football'. If you played that in school. Also, work semi-quickly to get all of the turnovers folded before the dough dries out. I was distracted for the last couple & they didn't turn out so well. You can try damp paper towels to help, but I only had some success with that. Overall, the recipe was very easy to make, the taste was good, but not exciting. It seemed to be missing some flavour, or something. Everyone said they would eat them again, but not their favourites. It did open the door to modifying the recipe with other ingredients or additions though!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2008
I've made these for our Christmas party,and they turned out excellent and the plate was empty in a flash!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Dunnville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2008
I made these and thought they were good, but like everyone else, they really need some kick in the filling and also a dipping sauce. Also, forget the phyllo dough. Just use wonton wrappers - so much easier to use and you can find them in just about any grocery store next to packaged herbs. Next time, I think I will use more tobasco and maybe some jalapeno or another kind of chilli or hot sauce, plus a dipping sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Maine, USA
Living In: Falmouth, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2008
I loved this. I did add a little change and that was well drained spinach. It received rave reviews at the cocktail party I took it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2008
New Year's Eve guests loved it! Will make this again at our next gathering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by a787

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wyoming, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Shavertown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2008
Super recipe. The dough can be super crunchy. It needs about 20 min. It does need some kind of kick. Next time I will try that siriache sauce as a dipping addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
Very good! Mu boyfriend really liked it. I used cressent rolls to speed things along.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Coconut Shrimp

See how to make crispy, crunchy coconut shrimp in the oven.

Pizza with Ham, Asparagus, and Ricotta

See how to make a white pizza with ham, asparagus, and two cheeses.

Shrimp and Jalapeno Nachos

See how to make simple, spicy nachos with shrimp and jalapenos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States