Phyllo Turnovers with Shrimp and Ricotta Filling Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2009
Good!! Delicious filling to try in Raviolis. Had for Christmas Eve 2009. Keep phyllo moist will making, otherwise dries out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
Made these yesterday for a Christmas Eve dinner. They disappeared in a heart beat. Phyllo is a pain to deal with on Christmas Eve, but well worth the effort. Inspired idea by another poster to use phyllo cups, which I had in my freezer. Would love to have a dipping sauce for them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
Delicious recipe that my mom and I just made for Christmas Eve! We noticed if you use too much filling, it may seep out when cooking. Also, we used only one half of a phyllo dough package (they come 2 rolls to a box) and never got though all of it -maybe use too much filling though? Yes, you want to fold this like a paper football- you could even try buttering as you fold along. I would recommend making these right before you want to serve them because they will dry out otherwise. Overall great recipe and I'm excited to make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
The flavor was fairly bland so I added extra spice and the phyllo needs to be buttered on the outside otherwise it is much too dry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cindylea13

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
This turned out fantastic! Great recipe! It was my first time with phyllo so it took me quite awhile and I used more butter then it said on the sheets of pastry. Other then that - delish! I froze half of them for a party this weekend, we'll see how they hold up. Fine I'm sure! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Thornbury, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Rancho Santa Margarita, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
I tried these and they were a big hit at my party. I basted with olive oil instead of butter and they came out crispy and fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
I am not a cook, yet made these for a group appetizer and received many compliments!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2009
I made it per the recipe and it was excellent. I would like to experiment though, and add about 1/2 tsp of garlic powder to the butter to saute with vegies. We also thought of putting some Boursin cheese. I may try using three sheets of Phyllo just to compare. We are serving it again for Christmas Eve ahead of the Prime Rib!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2009
many people said there was something missing-needed more flavor, more kick, etc. NOBODY suggested trying the addition of garlic in with the vegetables, and possibly bacon-then you'd have the typical ingredient basis for a Cajun dish(onions, green peppers, celery, garlic and bacon)- oh and possibly a bay leaf just sitting in the pan while you're sauteeing the veggies(and then removed). i haven't tried it yet but will soon and will get back to you with the results. if anyone does try it with my suggestions let us all know how it worked out. thanks for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SydniesMom
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
Absolutely fantastic dish! I used the caravelle Sweet Chili Sauce as a dipping sauce. Will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Baked Coconut Shrimp

See how to make crispy, crunchy coconut shrimp in the oven.

Pizza with Ham, Asparagus, and Ricotta

See how to make a white pizza with ham, asparagus, and two cheeses.

Shrimp and Jalapeno Nachos

See how to make simple, spicy nachos with shrimp and jalapenos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States