Phyllo Turnovers with Shrimp and Ricotta Filling Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2007
I made this recipe for a Christmas Eve party and got rave reviews on this appetizer. It wasn't particularly difficult to make and the filling was tasty on its own (toss it with pasta), but once you put it in the phyllo and bake it, it tastes amazing! One thing to note--the recipe says it only makes 15 pieces so I doubled it, and now I have way too much filling left and an extra package and a half of phyllo dough. I guess I'll be making some baklava!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2007
Fabulous! I followed the recipe exact and they were wonderful. Highly recommend as an appetizer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2007
wow
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MattyGit
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2007
The recipe should note that the shrimp should be chopped (approx. 1cm x 1cm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
89 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MattyGit

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fair Lawn, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Jupiter, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2007
I didn't make a change to it and it was absolutely fantastic! Even my picky wife loved it. Thanks for posting it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by noreast

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Commack, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2007
This was my first time working with Phyllo and I had great success. The filling was absolutely delicious. I did do one thing differently. I did not use the oil, only the butter. Try dipping the turnovers in Siracha. It is delicious. Also, I did freeze some filling and made more turovers a couple of weeks later with very good results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
81 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harvard, Illinois, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2007
I had reservations about this at first, but this recipe was amazing. I made this for a dinner I was invited to for Thanksgiving, and everyone raved about this. I did leave the tabasco out as I did not have it, and will add a bit of cayenne next time. I was a little confused about the triangle part of how to shape them but figured it out. I also ended up only using half of the 1-pound box of phyllo sheets. I will make another batch this week. Thanks for posting this recipe. It is definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EDWARDGMYS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2007
These were a huge hit at our Christmas get-together. The flavor was excellent, with the recipe prepared just as stated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sneedville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Johnson City, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2007
I have never used phyllo before and even so this recipe turned out perfect. I thought it would need a dipping sauce but they were wonderful without it, all the ingredients complimented each other so well that it dd not need sauce. This will be made again and again, I think it would even be great on crackers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Durango, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2007
My family loved these however I did make changes. I omitted the bell pepper since my family doesn't care for it. Also omitted ricotta, flour and salt. I used cream cheese instead. I will definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Coconut Shrimp

See how to make crispy, crunchy coconut shrimp in the oven.

Pizza with Ham, Asparagus, and Ricotta

See how to make a white pizza with ham, asparagus, and two cheeses.

Shrimp and Jalapeno Nachos

See how to make simple, spicy nachos with shrimp and jalapenos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States