Phyllo Turnovers with Shrimp and Ricotta Filling Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
The phyllo can be hard to work with, as it dries out quickly. Maybe someone has suggestions?? These are good, but very time consuming and I agree that they need more kick, or flavor of some kind.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2007
I made these Christmas Eve and everyone loved them. They are a great appetizer. One week later I took the recipe doubled it,(except for flour only used 2 TBL, added 1/3 cup more milk, 8 more drops of Tabasco and served it over Angel Hair Pasta, again everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ms. Sell

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2007
I made this for our family over Christmas, and it was a big hit! Even my mother-in-law who's very selective over her food choices thought these were fantastic. Great recipe and will be making it again tonight for our New Year's get-together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2007
My family loved these however I did make changes. I omitted the bell pepper since my family doesn't care for it. Also omitted ricotta, flour and salt. I used cream cheese instead. I will definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2007
I made this recipe for a Christmas Eve party and got rave reviews on this appetizer. It wasn't particularly difficult to make and the filling was tasty on its own (toss it with pasta), but once you put it in the phyllo and bake it, it tastes amazing! One thing to note--the recipe says it only makes 15 pieces so I doubled it, and now I have way too much filling left and an extra package and a half of phyllo dough. I guess I'll be making some baklava!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2007
I made these for a christmas party they were a hit although they could have used more flavoring. They are very time consuming and its really hard to work with the phyllo. I will make them again but will use cresent rolls to fill instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2007
I just made these for Christmas Eve and they were good, but not a wow for us. They needed a little more flavor. Plus, they are very time consuming, although not extrememly hard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2007
Overall, it was good...not great. I followed the recipe exactly as written. I think the filling needed a little more kick or a dipping sauce as some other suggested. I would make these again and add some spice or sweet kick to the filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2007
These were quite tasty - a nice addition to the Christmas dinner. Maybe it was just me, but these took much longer to make than the 40 minutes prep time stated...throwing my dinner 90 minutes off schedule! I would make again, but plan on 1 1/2 to 2 hours total prep time. I found it's easier to gently dab the warm butter on the dough (to avoid ripping) and cover the pastry you are not working on with a warm, damp paper towel (to avoid cracking). I look forward to more experiments with phyllo dough. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2007
These were a huge hit at our Christmas get-together. The flavor was excellent, with the recipe prepared just as stated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sneedville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Johnson City, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Coconut Shrimp

See how to make crispy, crunchy coconut shrimp in the oven.

Pizza with Ham, Asparagus, and Ricotta

See how to make a white pizza with ham, asparagus, and two cheeses.

Shrimp and Jalapeno Nachos

See how to make simple, spicy nachos with shrimp and jalapenos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States