Phyllo Turnovers with Shrimp and Ricotta Filling Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2010
these were a big hit with the family. Good to have as a finger food
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kmajors

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2010
Who knew that Phyllo and Puff Pastry were not the same thing? Probably just me. But the Puff Pastry worked quite nicely for this recipe. Since Puff Pastry already has a lot of butter in it, I eliminated the step using the 1/2 c. melted butter. The only other thing I changed was to add minced garlic with the shrimp (about 1 t.) I took these to a neighborhood cocktail party and they were a big hit. Oh, and for those of you who want a dipping sauce, try Harry and Davids Pepper and Onion relish. Great combo. One word of caution, the recipe does take longer to make than indicated - allow a total of about two hours from start to finish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2010
Meehh--it was aight'. A little bland. Tasted like pot pie to me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2010
bland. bland bland
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2010
I've made this twice and I've received rave reviews each time. I'll be making it again this weekend b/c I have phyllo sheets that need to be used. What a great excuse!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
The recipe is great. I used olive oil instead of canola and added peppadew hot sweet chillies and 1 clove chopped garlic for taste. We loved it and recommend this as a appetizer with champagne as the preferred drink.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
Love this recipe!! However I did not use the phyllo dough but used the prepared pastry cups and it turned ouot even better. I made my filling the night before and used Obay seasoning on the shrimp prior to adding them to the mix and the flavor was amazing. I found this to be a quick appetizer for the familt to much on while waiting for dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
This was fun to make and we really enjoyed it. I made it twice. The second time I added garlic powder and more ricotta and filled about a TBL. I brought it to a friend for New Year's Eve and it complimented their dinner perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Mccormick, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
I have made this a couple of times in the last month and love it. I do cut the roll of Phyllo dough into quarters. They turn out to be the exact size to make the triangles. You are also only working with a small amount at a time so they don't dry out on you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2009
Don't bother - very bland and too much work for the end result.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Crawfordsville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Baked Coconut Shrimp

See how to make crispy, crunchy coconut shrimp in the oven.

Pizza with Ham, Asparagus, and Ricotta

See how to make a white pizza with ham, asparagus, and two cheeses.

Shrimp and Jalapeno Nachos

See how to make simple, spicy nachos with shrimp and jalapenos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States