Phyllo Tarts with Ricotta and Raspberries Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2011
I made these the other night and they were wonderful! Made them cupcake sized. SO Good! I was able to make 4 instead of 6 servings. LOVED this! I will also use the custard part for many other dishes, as it reminds my of cannoli filling...and I LOVE cannoli filling. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by veggie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jackson, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2005
I added cooking chocolate and cloves to this recipe. The tarts were fantastic, even my kids (fussiest on planet) liked them. I use refrigerator phyllo,not the freezer kind. Works well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2006
These are great and I've made them with all types of berries (strawberries, blue berries, raspberries). To save time I use Athens Philo Shells which can be found by the cool whip in the freezer section of the grocery store. I make the mixture of egg, ricotta cheese, etc and put it into the frozen shells and bake them for about 15-20 minutes. DELICIOUS!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2001
Try using pre-made mini phyllo shells (made by Athens Foods - in the frozen food section). I didn't find it necessary to drain the ricotta. Ground cloves might give it an extra kick. Got lots of raves when I took this to a party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CARTWHEEL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Carole Ann
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2010
Everyone asked where I bought these; THAT'S how pretty they looked! The ricotta custard was lovely: the texture was only slightly grainy, but not overwhelmingly so. I made some slight changes--used ground cloves instead of nutmeg because I'd misplaced it, and substituted strawberries and blackberries because I couldn't get a hold of raspberries. I fully intend to make these again (tonight, since I've already received plenty of requests for them!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carole Ann

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2011
LOVE, love, LOVE it! Very light, refreshing desert. Perfect for a summer get together. Freshly grated nutmeg makes this recipe. My first time working with phillo. Work fast and you'll be fine. Really scrumptious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2010
I substituted the ricotta for half cottage cheese and half cream cheese. The flavor turned out amazing! I also used cinnamon instead of nutmeg because I love the flavor, and I will definitely make this again! A perfect, light dessert...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2012
I gave this five stars...except I didn't actually make it at all the way it says. I didn't want tarts. So...I doubled the filling ingredients and used an 8" frozen pie shell instead of the phyllo dough. I also used a mixture of cardamom and nutmeg in place of just nutmeg. I used a wire whisk instead of an electric mixer. I used a mixture of berries and sprinkled them with a little sugar and a drizzle of water to provide a little syrup then I grated a little of the orange rind and mixed it in with them very gently. I didn't put them on top of the pie, just served them alongside. Oh--it took about forty-five or fifty minutes to bake at 350...maybe a little longer. Since I was messing with the recipe I just set it for the original time and then kept adding increments of five minutes...I kind of lost track after a while. I just took it out when it looked "done". It got rave reviews from my family. I think you could use a cookie type pastry shell, too...or maybe even a chocolate shell...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
I used strawberries, very good. I would only make again for a special occasion buecause this is a bit labor intenseve for a dessert/snack for everyday.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2010
Very good base for a start. I made a first batch, but I wasn't entirely impressed. It was bland. With the second batch, I increased the sugar by about two tablespoons, kept the nutmeg the same, but added ground cloves and cinnamon. I also increased the orange zest to one teaspoon. Second batch was outstanding. The result was still not a very sweet filling, but flavorful, different and generally a very easy to make dessert! Beware that the recipe calls for making three inch tarts. If you are using the pre-made phyllo dough tarts by Athens, they are just over an inch in diameter. Therefore, if you double the recipe (or triple, as I did) you will have much of the batter left over. (So, I baked it into a pie - a bit different, but yummy!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Blackberry and Blueberry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart, two-berry pie from scratch.

Chef John's Blueberry Clafoutis

See how to make a super quick-and-easy fruit dessert.

Zucchini and Ricotta Casserole

See how to make a simple roasted zucchini casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States