Phyllo Tarts with Ricotta and Raspberries Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2001
Try using pre-made mini phyllo shells (made by Athens Foods - in the frozen food section). I didn't find it necessary to drain the ricotta. Ground cloves might give it an extra kick. Got lots of raves when I took this to a party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CARTWHEEL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2003
This dessert had a very good flavor. I made it for my husband for Valentine's and he was impressed. Even my 3 year old liked it. The phyllo was hard to work with - it always is for me - so next time I make this, I will look into using already prepared shells. The prebaked shells are available and I was thinking that if I left out the egg, I could make a "no-bake" version of this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2003
This was okay but it seemed to need a little more for me, although everyone else liked it. I think I will try it by adding some cocoa to the cheese mixture and a little extra vanilla perhaps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LTISONE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Ligonier, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2005
It felt like the recipe was missing something, a little too bland and tart for my tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2005
I added cooking chocolate and cloves to this recipe. The tarts were fantastic, even my kids (fussiest on planet) liked them. I use refrigerator phyllo,not the freezer kind. Works well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2006
These are great and I've made them with all types of berries (strawberries, blue berries, raspberries). To save time I use Athens Philo Shells which can be found by the cool whip in the freezer section of the grocery store. I make the mixture of egg, ricotta cheese, etc and put it into the frozen shells and bake them for about 15-20 minutes. DELICIOUS!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2008
These tarts had a wonderful flavor. I didn't like the texture of the crust or the filling. The filling looked kind of like cauliflower and had a grainy texture. I am going to try these again with cream cheese instead of ricotta and shortbread crust instead of the phyllo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Duluth, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Carole Ann
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2010
Everyone asked where I bought these; THAT'S how pretty they looked! The ricotta custard was lovely: the texture was only slightly grainy, but not overwhelmingly so. I made some slight changes--used ground cloves instead of nutmeg because I'd misplaced it, and substituted strawberries and blackberries because I couldn't get a hold of raspberries. I fully intend to make these again (tonight, since I've already received plenty of requests for them!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carole Ann

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2010
Very good base for a start. I made a first batch, but I wasn't entirely impressed. It was bland. With the second batch, I increased the sugar by about two tablespoons, kept the nutmeg the same, but added ground cloves and cinnamon. I also increased the orange zest to one teaspoon. Second batch was outstanding. The result was still not a very sweet filling, but flavorful, different and generally a very easy to make dessert! Beware that the recipe calls for making three inch tarts. If you are using the pre-made phyllo dough tarts by Athens, they are just over an inch in diameter. Therefore, if you double the recipe (or triple, as I did) you will have much of the batter left over. (So, I baked it into a pie - a bit different, but yummy!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2010
I substituted the ricotta for half cottage cheese and half cream cheese. The flavor turned out amazing! I also used cinnamon instead of nutmeg because I love the flavor, and I will definitely make this again! A perfect, light dessert...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Ricotta Pie

See how to make a lighter, less sweet version of cheesecake.

Ricotta Pie (Old Italian Recipe)

A favorite Italian cheese pie.

Chef John's Blueberry Clafoutis

See how to make a super quick-and-easy fruit dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States