Phoenician's Key Lime Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2009
Phoenician Gourmet, you have outdone yourself and this pie absolutely deserves to be titled after you! I have my favorite Key Lime Pie recipe that I have been using for years, and I don't mind saying this recipe will probably take its place. First of all, the crust -the ground, toasted almonds take it to way beyond the ordinary. And then there's the filling - SO extra creamy! The heavy cream was a beautiful addition not only in taste, but its addition makes for a more substantial pie than others, filling the pie plate nicely. The combination of the novel ingredients of almonds and cream make for one, extraordinarily good Key Lime Pie, and with the perfect degree of lime flavor! As the first reviewer of this recipe, I can only strongly encourage others to give it a try! I can't imagine you'd be sorry! Edited 8/7/2011 - I use 1-1/2 tsp. grated lime zest rather than just 1/2 tsp. - perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
127 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: May 2, 2011
Fantastic recipe, when key limes are in season, stock up on them, just put in freezer and they are good for about a year, when needed, just take out what you need, better than the bottle stuff, i like my limes fresh, I have frozen lemon and limes and oranges for years. and just as good as the day I got them. From Peyton in Mississauga
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2010
If there were an option for more than five stars, I don't know if I'd ever stop. The best key lime pie I've ever had. EVER. The toasted almonds and refrigerating overnight is a must. My crust was done in under ten minutes and my pie was done in just under fifteen minutes. You HAVE to try this pie. It's excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2011
The quest for "THE" key lime pie recipe is over! This was a smashing success, perfectly tart, perfectly sweet, rich and creamy. The only thing I need to fix is that the crust was so crumbly it was difficult to serve but it was so good I still have to give it 5 stars. Next time I'll take some of the leftover egg whites, whisk them with a fork for a few seconds and brush the egg wash onto the pie shell before baking. I've done that in the past with perfect results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MichelleCarver

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2011
ABSOLUTELY THE BEST!! I think I have tried every Key Lime Pie recipe on this site and this one is the best. Didn't change a thing. THANKS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOMARTIN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Duluth, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
Yum! This is a great recipe and really simple. My only complaint was that I wished it looked a bit greener (it was more yellow-colored from the yolks). I serve it with some fresh whipped cream to balance the tartness. I've made it with bottled key lime juice and fresh squeezed limes. Also, we only chilled it for two hours and it was fine :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2009
Everyone who likes Key Lime Pie should make this recipe - even novice bakers. It's delicious and so easy to make. In the past, I always used a store-bought graham cracker crust. NEVER AGAIN!!! The crust is so easy to make and the difference in taste is remarkable. The cream is definitely a secret ingredient that changes the recipe from good to great. I thought the lime flavor was perfect, following this recipe exactly. Anyone who likes a strong lime flavor might want to add more juice. I used bottled key lime juice; can't easily get the key limes in Boston.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Waltham, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2009
Very rich, because the cream in the filling cuts the tartness. I enjoyed it, but we like ours tart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marljong

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Mateo, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2011
I really enjoyed this. It was very easy to make and the crust is one of the best I have ever had. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovetotravel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
I love key lime pie and I've had my share of great ones and not so great ones. This one is definitely in my top two, it may even be #1. My husband and I ate this entire pie in less than 24 hours. It's that good. Seriously. The toasted almonds in the crust definitely puts it over the top and I can't imagine using that ready-made stuff again. The filling is very similar to a recipe I've always used that uses another can of condensed milk instead of the cold heavy cream - I really didn't notice a difference in taste between the two. Either way, this will be my go to recipe for Key Lime pie when we entertain. Loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by valerie160

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springfield, Virginia, USA
Living In: Ashburn, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Key Lime Pie VII

Use fresh key lime juice if you can, as it adds the biggest flavor.

Easy Key Lime Pie I

See how to make a quick-and-easy, award-winning key lime pie.

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States