Phoenician's Key Lime Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2009
Everyone who likes Key Lime Pie should make this recipe - even novice bakers. It's delicious and so easy to make. In the past, I always used a store-bought graham cracker crust. NEVER AGAIN!!! The crust is so easy to make and the difference in taste is remarkable. The cream is definitely a secret ingredient that changes the recipe from good to great. I thought the lime flavor was perfect, following this recipe exactly. Anyone who likes a strong lime flavor might want to add more juice. I used bottled key lime juice; can't easily get the key limes in Boston.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Waltham, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2009
Thanks for the GREAT recipe! I had to toast my own almonds & hand squeeze a whole tree of key limes, but it was worth it. I took this on a hike with some friends and they all loved it and many wanted the recipe! (but will not ever carry a whole pie in a cooler up a hill ever again). I made extra crust; it is the best part of this type of pie; so it had a thick crust and a nice sprinking on the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kiter

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
Yum! This is a great recipe and really simple. My only complaint was that I wished it looked a bit greener (it was more yellow-colored from the yolks). I serve it with some fresh whipped cream to balance the tartness. I've made it with bottled key lime juice and fresh squeezed limes. Also, we only chilled it for two hours and it was fine :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2010
The best Key Lime we have ever had...great with fresh key limes (from my neighbor's tree) or bottled key lime. I've made this four times in one month! It's that good! Going to try it with a lemon meringue.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gingergirl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
I love key lime pie and I've had my share of great ones and not so great ones. This one is definitely in my top two, it may even be #1. My husband and I ate this entire pie in less than 24 hours. It's that good. Seriously. The toasted almonds in the crust definitely puts it over the top and I can't imagine using that ready-made stuff again. The filling is very similar to a recipe I've always used that uses another can of condensed milk instead of the cold heavy cream - I really didn't notice a difference in taste between the two. Either way, this will be my go to recipe for Key Lime pie when we entertain. Loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by valerie160

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springfield, Virginia, USA
Living In: Ashburn, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
This was my first attempt at making a key lime pie. This recipe was SUPER easy to follow and now I am in love. Mildly tart, sweet and delicious! We'll definitely be adding this pie to our list of favorites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aly

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
If I could give it more stars, I would!!! You have taken Key Lime Pie to the next level. I only had 1/2 and 1/2 on hand so I used that and it still was the best I've ever made. Thanks for an outstanding recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Fort Myers, Florida, USA
Living In: Lowell, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2010
If there were an option for more than five stars, I don't know if I'd ever stop. The best key lime pie I've ever had. EVER. The toasted almonds and refrigerating overnight is a must. My crust was done in under ten minutes and my pie was done in just under fifteen minutes. You HAVE to try this pie. It's excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
Outstanding! The almonds in the crust make it stand out, and the creamy, slightly tart filling is out of this world. I will make this pie again and again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
This pie was so easy to make and very delicious. My only complaint is I forgot to buy some whip cream, would have tasted great on the pie. The almonds in the crust are amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Redlands, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Key Lime Pie VII

Use fresh key lime juice if you can, as it adds the biggest flavor.

Easy Key Lime Pie I

See how to make a quick-and-easy, award-winning key lime pie.

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States