Phoenician's Key Lime Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2009
Phoenician Gourmet, you have outdone yourself and this pie absolutely deserves to be titled after you! I have my favorite Key Lime Pie recipe that I have been using for years, and I don't mind saying this recipe will probably take its place. First of all, the crust -the ground, toasted almonds take it to way beyond the ordinary. And then there's the filling - SO extra creamy! The heavy cream was a beautiful addition not only in taste, but its addition makes for a more substantial pie than others, filling the pie plate nicely. The combination of the novel ingredients of almonds and cream make for one, extraordinarily good Key Lime Pie, and with the perfect degree of lime flavor! As the first reviewer of this recipe, I can only strongly encourage others to give it a try! I can't imagine you'd be sorry! Edited 8/7/2011 - I use 1-1/2 tsp. grated lime zest rather than just 1/2 tsp. - perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
116 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2009
Very rich, because the cream in the filling cuts the tartness. I enjoyed it, but we like ours tart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marljong

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Mateo, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2009
Thanks for the GREAT recipe! I had to toast my own almonds & hand squeeze a whole tree of key limes, but it was worth it. I took this on a hike with some friends and they all loved it and many wanted the recipe! (but will not ever carry a whole pie in a cooler up a hill ever again). I made extra crust; it is the best part of this type of pie; so it had a thick crust and a nice sprinking on the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kiter

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2009
Everyone who likes Key Lime Pie should make this recipe - even novice bakers. It's delicious and so easy to make. In the past, I always used a store-bought graham cracker crust. NEVER AGAIN!!! The crust is so easy to make and the difference in taste is remarkable. The cream is definitely a secret ingredient that changes the recipe from good to great. I thought the lime flavor was perfect, following this recipe exactly. Anyone who likes a strong lime flavor might want to add more juice. I used bottled key lime juice; can't easily get the key limes in Boston.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Waltham, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
Yum! This is a great recipe and really simple. My only complaint was that I wished it looked a bit greener (it was more yellow-colored from the yolks). I serve it with some fresh whipped cream to balance the tartness. I've made it with bottled key lime juice and fresh squeezed limes. Also, we only chilled it for two hours and it was fine :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
If I could give it more stars, I would!!! You have taken Key Lime Pie to the next level. I only had 1/2 and 1/2 on hand so I used that and it still was the best I've ever made. Thanks for an outstanding recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Fort Myers, Florida, USA
Living In: Lowell, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2010
The best Key Lime we have ever had...great with fresh key limes (from my neighbor's tree) or bottled key lime. I've made this four times in one month! It's that good! Going to try it with a lemon meringue.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gingergirl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2010
If there were an option for more than five stars, I don't know if I'd ever stop. The best key lime pie I've ever had. EVER. The toasted almonds and refrigerating overnight is a must. My crust was done in under ten minutes and my pie was done in just under fifteen minutes. You HAVE to try this pie. It's excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
I love key lime pie and I've had my share of great ones and not so great ones. This one is definitely in my top two, it may even be #1. My husband and I ate this entire pie in less than 24 hours. It's that good. Seriously. The toasted almonds in the crust definitely puts it over the top and I can't imagine using that ready-made stuff again. The filling is very similar to a recipe I've always used that uses another can of condensed milk instead of the cold heavy cream - I really didn't notice a difference in taste between the two. Either way, this will be my go to recipe for Key Lime pie when we entertain. Loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by valerie160

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springfield, Virginia, USA
Living In: Ashburn, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
This was my first attempt at making a key lime pie. This recipe was SUPER easy to follow and now I am in love. Mildly tart, sweet and delicious! We'll definitely be adding this pie to our list of favorites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aly

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Key Lime Pie VII

Use fresh key lime juice if you can, as it adds the biggest flavor.

Easy Key Lime Pie I

See how to make a quick-and-easy, award-winning key lime pie.

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States