PHILLY Sugar Shack Maple Walnut Cheesecake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
This was an amazing dessert! My parents watched me make and they were skeptical because I'm not known as the chef of house. But, at our family's Thanksgiving party everybody LOVED it! It was the favorite on the table and it was so easy to make! I couldn't find those Christie's cookies so I used ginger snaps instead which turned out to combine perfectly with the walnuts and maple syrup. It was an amazing dessert, super delicious, thank you so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2008
incredible. i couldn't find any maple leaf cookies in the short amount of time i had to get the ingredients, so i bought some belgian chocolate chunk cookies and just crumbled it up really well. definitely making this for thankgsgiving .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ella

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Roanoke, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2009
This recipe was easy to follow and turned out wonderful! My husband even liked it better than store bought. It was the first cheesecake I have ever made and I am glad I chose this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2009
This is the easies cheesecake I ever made. Like the others, I could not find the Maple cookies and used graham crackers instead. This was a big hit at the neighbors dinner party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
This recipe is a keeper. Both my husband and I loved it. I used a high quality Vermont maple syrup and made a graham cracker crust which I baked for 10 minutes before adding the filling. I used a water bath and baked it at 350º for 45 minutes, then left it in the oven for an hour with the oven door cracked open. It was perfect, nice and creamy. Really, really nice cheesecake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
The texture of this cheesecake was perfect and was super easy to make, but it was missing something for me...not sweet enough maybe or missing some flavor...not sure, just couldn't put my finger on it. I used ginger snap cookies for the crust as suggested by other reviewers and used the whipped cream cheese in place of the brick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by April

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richfield Springs, New York, USA
Living In: Great Bend, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2010
I made this cheesecake for our wedding dessert table as well! used boisetown maple syrup fresh from the shack and organic walnuts!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lauralee McCloskey

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2008
RAVE reviews! I used Ginger Snaps for the crust as suggested in another review since I couldn't find maple cookies. Turned out wonderful. Super simple to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
Turned out great! Not too sweet! I used 1 cup of graham cracker crumbs in place of the crushed cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
I made this cheesecake and it was ok... I was disappointed in the flavor. The cake itself tasted good, just like regular cheesecake, but didn't taste like maple at all. I didn't like the crust, too greasy and again, couldn't taste the maple flavor at all, the walnuts took over the flavor. Maybe next time, if I ever make it again, because 3 of my 4 children actually liked this cake - probably because they weren't expecting this maple flavor like me, I will put more maple syrup in the cheesecake batter, no walnuts and less butter in the crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Cheesecake

See how to make a classic cheesecake in five easy steps.

Maple Walnut Cranberry Sauce

Maple syrup and walnuts create an amazing cranberry sauce.

Chocolate Cookie Cheesecake

Show-stopping cheesecake stars cream-filled chocolate sandwich cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States