Philly Steak Sandwich Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: May 19, 2009
Very delicious! I use 2 slices of Provolone per sandwich...which made it great and more authentic. I also sauteed the veggies first, then the meat. Once everything was sauteed I put the 8 bun halves on the baking pan, loaded the meat on the bottom pieces, then the veggies, then the cheese and broiled it for about 2-3 mins and they were perfect. Will be using spice mixture for Fajitas...with a little extra chili powder... :P
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mawcus

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westerville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2009
As another member suggested, I made a mixture of the seasoning and I keep it in my spice cabinet. The seasoning can make "something special" out of nothing special.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA
Living In: Monticello, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2009
Love these, and they freeze beautifully!I wait until Sirloin is on sale, then have the butcher slice it as thin as he can. (All that slicing by hand gets tough!)I cut the recipe in half, and placed all the raw ingredients for 1/2 a recipe in a 1 quart freezer bag. (1/2 recipe is the perfect size for 2 adults.) Squish the bag to get the air out, and freeze for up to 6 months. Pull from the freezer, and cook as described. You will never know they just came out of the freezer, and it makes for a super-fast meal. Provolone cheese is our favorite instead of swiss!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2009
These were good. To get the steak cut thin, it helps to pop it in the freezer for a couple minutes before slicing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marley_Mom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2009
I made a few small changes including no veggies, because I didn't have any on hand, and provolone cheese, because that is what I had in the fridge and my whole family loved it. Definitely plan to mix a large amount of these seasonings together in a shaker to have on hand all of the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Positively Angel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denison, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2009
Very good, I sliced the meat as thin as I could and doubled the seasonings because I had more meat than the recipe called for and put most of it on the meat but also the left over on the peppers and onions. I think that we will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mama to JRG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2009
This was a good sandwich.I only changed one thing.I boiled the meat in beef broth for 15min.This makes the meat very very tender.Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2009
This was easy and a welcomed change to our meal menu. I make this now at the least once a month. THank you for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Allegan, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2009
I just made this for my family last night. I've tried quite a few steak sandwich recipes, and this one's my favorite so far! It was easy to make and had great flavor. The only changes I made were to use provolone, a splash of Worchestershire on the steak, added mushrooms,and used one big loaf of french bread, then sliced it. Definitely will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2009
Froze meat slightly, to ease slicing, added 1 TBSP olive oil and seasonings with meat in a large ziplock let marinade for a few hours. When they were almost done cooking i added a splash of beef broth just to moisten and they were perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 220) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Philly Cheesesteak Sandwich with Garlic Mayo

A tangy garlic mayo is the key to these easy steak sandwiches.

Easy Steak Sandwich

See how to make a sub shop-style cheese steak sandwich.

How to Make the Ultimate Steak Sandwich

Watch Chef John create the juiciest, meatiest steak sandwich ever.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States