Philly Steak Sandwich Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2010
I have made these sandwiches twice now and they were WONDERFUL! I don't care if they are authentic or not, they are just delicious. First time I used leftover cooked rib-eye steak that my husband sliced super thin with an electric knife. I put the pieces in a ziploc bag with all the spices to let marinate. 2nd time I made, I used frozen steak-ums and that worked well too; however I think the rib-eye was just a little better. Do not skimp on the bread. I bought very nice, fresh hoagie rolls from our store's bakery and it really makes them. The combination of spices and meat, cheese, etc just makes for a super delicious sandwich. Oh and first time I used swiss cheese as recipe calls for and 2nd time I used provolone. We actually liked the swiss better as it has more flavor. I am so glad I found this recipe when I was looking for a way to use up a leftover steak! Thanks so much for sharing the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JARRIE
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2010
We thought this was fantastic. We're not from Philadelphia, so we don't care if it's authentic or not - thus we bit into our sandwiches lacking prejudice about the seasonings and cheeses. The seasoning mixture, in particular, is what sets this sandwich apart from others, and I especially liked the thyme and marjoram. I don't get to use marjoram enough, but here's a recipe where it's a great addition! We liked that this was much lower in fat & calories than our usual favorite, "Jeremy's Philly Steak and Cheese" from this site. I took some liberties with the type of pepper (used Anaheim) and the cheese (used light provolone) and was fully satisfied with the end product. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2010
This is a very yummy recipe! I used beef tenderloin filets that I sliced thinly and my homegrown green peppers and onions that I sliced on a mandolin. I omitted the marjoram and basil just because I didn't have it on hand. I loved the spice combination, not too salty. I used thinly sliced provolone and broiled the whole thing at the end. It was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2010
The spices on the meat was VERY overpowering, you couldn't taste anything else on the sandwich unless you have one tiny piece of meat and pile it as high as possible with the onions & peppers. Nevermind tasting any cheese. The spice combination wasn't bad, but just not great for a sandwich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kieria

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: Niceville, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2010
This was wonderful. The only thing that I did different was, I combined the seasonings and a dab of olive oil and about 2 tsp of worcheshire sauce in a ziplock bag. I added the cut up steak and allowed it to marinate for 3 hours. This came out wonderful and flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2010
My family really enjoyed this recipe. I used shaved beef which worked great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Conway, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2010
I was born and raised in Philly and it is so amusing to hear people try to duplicate our cheese steaks. This has good flavor but is NOT a Philly cheese steak. Interesting try though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2010
Very tasty. The meat needs to be cut very finely and tons of cheese. Also, make sure to mix the veggies and the meet after both have been sauteed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2010
Best Philly Cheese Steak recipe I have found. Combo would be good on fijitas too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2010
Hubby made this tonight. Quick and delish! Used tri-tip as we already had it and artisan rolls that were a little thick so could have used a little ajus for dipping. Flavor was great. Next time we'll get it perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Goleta, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 226) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Philly Cheesesteak Sandwich with Garlic Mayo

A tangy garlic mayo is the key to these easy steak sandwiches.

Easy Steak Sandwich

See how to make a sub shop-style cheese steak sandwich.

How to Make the Ultimate Steak Sandwich

Watch Chef John create the juiciest, meatiest steak sandwich ever.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States