Philly Steak Sandwich Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2010
The spices on the meat was VERY overpowering, you couldn't taste anything else on the sandwich unless you have one tiny piece of meat and pile it as high as possible with the onions & peppers. Nevermind tasting any cheese. The spice combination wasn't bad, but just not great for a sandwich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kieria

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: Niceville, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2010
This was wonderful. The only thing that I did different was, I combined the seasonings and a dab of olive oil and about 2 tsp of worcheshire sauce in a ziplock bag. I added the cut up steak and allowed it to marinate for 3 hours. This came out wonderful and flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2010
My family really enjoyed this recipe. I used shaved beef which worked great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Conway, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2010
I was born and raised in Philly and it is so amusing to hear people try to duplicate our cheese steaks. This has good flavor but is NOT a Philly cheese steak. Interesting try though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2010
Very tasty. The meat needs to be cut very finely and tons of cheese. Also, make sure to mix the veggies and the meet after both have been sauteed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2010
Best Philly Cheese Steak recipe I have found. Combo would be good on fijitas too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2010
Hubby made this tonight. Quick and delish! Used tri-tip as we already had it and artisan rolls that were a little thick so could have used a little ajus for dipping. Flavor was great. Next time we'll get it perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Goleta, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2010
I definitely give this 5 stars. My husband and kids love this! I add sauteed mushrooms to my husband's and omit the onions and green peppers for my kids'. I also use provolone; my personal taste. My husband and I think this is one of the best recipes ever! Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
Could have used a little more zing but still delicious!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
With a couple changes, these were great. Since it waso n sale, I bought eye of round steak. Very tender. I tool another reviewer's suggestion to rub the steaks with spices, then add a little olive oil and let sit for a hour. I think it deepened the flavor. I spread garlic spread on the split rolls and broiled, the used sharp provolone, which is a personal preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 223) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Philly Cheesesteak Sandwich with Garlic Mayo

A tangy garlic mayo is the key to these easy steak sandwiches.

Easy Steak Sandwich

See how to make a sub shop-style cheese steak sandwich.

How to Make the Ultimate Steak Sandwich

Watch Chef John create the juiciest, meatiest steak sandwich ever.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States