Philly Steak Sandwich Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2014
I've made this several times as is. It may not be exactly philly style, but is very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2013
I'm sorry, but not only did we feel the spices didn't create a balanced flavor, it smelled the opposite of delicious when cooking it. I wished I passed on this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2013
Very very good. Instead of sirloin try skirt steak and cut it very thin across the grain, very tender and delicious. I also added mushrooms and used red peppers instead if green. Yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2013
This was great, the seasoning on the steak is perfect! Be sure to cut against the grain, or it will be tough. I used red bell pepper instead of green, and did add a touch of mayo to mine as I can't live without a condiment on my bread lol! Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2013
Great seasoning. I used provolone cheese instead of swiss, and subbed mushrooms for the green peppers, just for taste preference. Turned out very good. The kids especially liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
'Sgood! I really liked the spice mixture and these were excellent served with homemade baked fries. I made this exactly as written EXCEPT for the cheese. Used provolone instead of Swiss because I just couldn't see it any other way. Next time I'll hang onto the spice mix, but I prefer steak sandwiches a tad sloppier. And juicier. This was a little dry. So next time I'll probably just mix everything together and let it all cook together then throw cheese on top and cover it to melt everything together before scooping it into a bun. But there will definitely be a next time, so thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by niki-b

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
This is the best seasoning for beef I have ever found! We all loved it! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2012
Fantastic seasoning and recipe. I used ribeye steak and sautéed in a cast iron skillet, which makes a big difference. To the bun I added a little mayo with crushed garlic. Also added 4 cremini mushrooms to the onion mix. Really good! Will make this regularly now. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2012
I looked at this recipe and had a bad feeling about it and should have moved on. I have never seen a recipe like this without a tenderizer of some sort. I added all of the spices. I did 1/4 tsp. as a couple of reviewers mentioned it being too much. I was tempted to add something acidic but left it alone. The only spice I left out was the chili powder and subbed Italian seasoning for the basil and thyme. The problem was that the meat was tough, dry, and almost just had a bloody taste. The texture, was just as I had anticipated. Since, I used so many herbs and spices already, I got the fridge condiments out to doctor it up. I added chili sauce and a little soy and worchestershire. That definitely helped. I didn't bother with the cheese in the end since it didn't at any point seem like steak sandwich meat to me. I am glad I could salvage it although I am not sure it will all get eaten which is rare in my house. To top, even if it tasted like a cheese steak sandwich, the meat was just way too thick for a sandwich of this type.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2012
I loved this recipe! I had some leftover BBQ steak and this was the perfect recipe for some leftovers. I didn't have marjoram, so I omitted it, and it still tasted great! I used red roasted peppers instead of green because again it was what I had left over from the BBQ steak. I also used marble cheese (mozarella and cheddar mix), that's all I had and it was fantastic! We added some hot pepper paste because we like spicy and a red roasted pepper spread because we had it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 220) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Philly Cheesesteak Sandwich with Garlic Mayo

A tangy garlic mayo is the key to these easy steak sandwiches.

Easy Steak Sandwich

See how to make a sub shop-style cheese steak sandwich.

How to Make the Ultimate Steak Sandwich

Watch Chef John create the juiciest, meatiest steak sandwich ever.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States