Philly Steak Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
wow. great unique yummy salad. we will be rotating this into our meals. thanks so much for sharing this idea
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2013
This salad is great! I usually just use sliced leftover grilled steak, added after sauteeing the onions and peppers. It's strange but so good. The kids call it silly salad because it has fries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2012
perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Island City, New York, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2011
This was so good! I didn't think I liked it at first, but once the steak, onions, & peppers warmed up the rest of the lettuce (and I don't like warm lettuce usually), it was very tasty! We used a good spring lettuce mix from Trader Joe's, tons of peppers & onions..would definately make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
Used sirloin instead of flank steak. Substituted frozen curly fries with the Simple Oven Fries recipe from this site. Think next time I will marinate steak but not the onions and pepper. Recipe can easily be customized to suit individual tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dianekp

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2011
Used 2 rib eye - sauteed veg, then steak in cast iron pan with remaining Italian dressing. Glad I used a good cut of meat. Used waffle fries. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clarkston, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by amandak23k
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
I'm giving four stars because I really liked the sweatness the italian dressing gave the steak, onions and peppers. I didn't have curly style french fries just regular frozen french fries. I didn't care for the french fries on the salad I ended up taking them off and eating them seperate. I left the garbanzos beans out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amandak23k

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
A winner at our house!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Visalia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
We really like this. Might try with baking my own fries next time to make it healthier. Kept the cheese to a minimum. Very yummy, and if the fries get a little soft or soggy, it just makes it easier to fork them with the rest of the salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sherwood, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2010
Great salad - being from PA I had to try this! And, while this doesn't compare to Pat's or Geno's, it's a nice twist on a great classic! My husband loves cheesesteaks and since I have a hard time getting him to eat salads this was perfect! I used a sirloin steak that I partially froze in order to get the slices nice and thin. I marinated only the steak in light Kraft Italian dressing that I perked up with some additional minced garlic and bit of oregano. I marinated it for about an hour. I sauteed the onions and pepers in a bit of olive oil and then sauteed the steak. I used light cheddar cheese on mine and provolone on my husband's portion. You can leave out the garbanzo beans if you like, but I love them so I left them in the salad. To put this over the top I wanted a homemade Ranch dressing, so I used "Ranch-Style Buttermilk Dressing" from this site. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Philly Cheese Steak Pizza

Grab a slice of Philly Cheese Steak pizza!

Taco Salad I

See how to make a delicious taco salad with a twist.

Philly Cheesesteak Sandwich with Garlic Mayo

A tangy garlic mayo is the key to these easy steak sandwiches.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States