PHILLY Spicy Thai Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2012
Didn't have the dressing so I used 1/8 c Annie's Lite Gingerly dressing and 1/8 c ponzu sauce. Also used frozen cubed butternut squash -- well worth the time savings of cutting one up. Didn't have a blender so I just mashed everything up with a potato masher, which worked fine. Good flavor, it just needs a little salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by historylover
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2012
Not bad, definitely different. Added extra curry powder and chicken. Boyfriend suggested tofu next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
Great soup. The only comment I have is that even with 2 tsp of the curry paste this isn't very spicy at all. You may want to add Sirracha or some other form of heat to the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deadly Cyclone

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
This is one of those recipes I stumbled upon and almost didn't use because of the unusual ingredients. But I'm glad I did, it has become a staple. So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Carnation, Washington, USA
Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2011
Oh My GOODNESS! One of my coworkers brought this soup in for our potluck and it was a total hit. I'm a great cook, and I work often with SE Asian flavors, and although this is mild enough for someone unfamiliar with SE Asian cuisine, it definitely has enough of that flavor to make you feel all warm and fuzzy. The consistency is nice and creamy, and the cilantro adds the perfect pop of brightness. What a delightful party in my mouth! Everyone was begging to know who on earth made this amazing soup and no one believed that my male coworker actually made it himself!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
I really liked this one but of course, did it slightly different. I omitted the onion, roasted my squash, pureed in all the other ingredients with it and then re-heated (which it barely needed). Very thick, smooth and tasty. I upped the curry paste to 1.5 tbs as well since hubby and I are very into curry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2011
This soup is bizzare, the cream cheese just tasted so weird. Maybe this would work with coconut milk? My husband liked it so I will give it two stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
I used two tablespoons of the curry paste and it was still not what I consider "Thai spicy," but it still tasted good. I agree with the review who said he/she would use something other than the cream cheese next time; I could never get it to melt completely and resorted to smashing it against the sides of the pot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
good easy recipe. We like things a bit spicier so added 2 tsp curry paste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
This was a good soup, we all liked it and will probably make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States