PHILLY Smothered Chicken with Brown Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 29, 2012
This was surprisingly good. I used baby carrots and they worked fine. I also left out the bacon and didn't miss it (I'm sure it'd be great with it, but we didn't have any). When making the sauce, make sure the broth is really hot - pretty much boiling - so it melts the cream cheese, otherwise you will be whisking the lumps out forever - I found a flat whisk to be just the trick for that. Also, season the sauce a bit after whisking - it's a little on the bland side as it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Villa, Illinois, USA
Living In: Grayslake, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2012
Excellent. Will make again, but will add more broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2011
Sauce was bland as is...if I make again will add salt & pepper, and maybe try garlic powder as one reviewer did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cindyjt

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2011
This was tasty and easy. I always make big batches of brown rice in my rice cooker and freeze it. So having this easy recipe was super faster. My husband enjoyed it. It didn't have that 5 star WOW flavor which is why I only rated it a 4 star.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by QueenKey

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sparta, Michigan, USA
Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
Wonderful flavor - I served with quinoa instead of rice plus added salt, pepper, and garlic powder to taste. Next time I'd double the sauce.....not enough as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
this was very simple and just great! only swaps i did were to use turkey bacon and use white rice (i somehow managed to burn the brown, and i didn't want to wait another 40 minutes). Next time I will probably double the sauce because I lie lots of sauce and this one was spectacular!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
Great flavor! I did a couple of swaps, I used turkey bacon, and fat free Philly. Very filling and yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lynn, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Brookline, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
This dish was suprisingly yummy & easy to throw together! Both my husband & I really enjoyed it! I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Billerica, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
A quick an easy dinner that the whole family ate!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
Too much onion. Not enough flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States