PHILLY Neapolitan Cheesecake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2010
This is a very good cheesecake. The ones that ate couldn't stop talking about how good it was. It was a very easy recipe to follow. I would suggest trying it out for yourself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2010
Really great cheesecake. The layers are really eye-appealing and they taste good, too. I didn't have Graham crackers, so I just used a similar cookie for the crust. I also didn't have frozen strawberries; I had frozen raspberries on hand. It still came out really tasty!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mgsilvis

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2011
A beautiful, delicious cheesecake that is pretty simple to make. It's a little time consuming, but definitely worth the effort! The only thing I did differently was I left off the white chocolate shavings and garnished instead with chocolate dipped strawberries. Fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bianca LaMore

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
This tasted delicious, although the three layers didn't seem as "defined" as I thought they would be. I think that next time, I may double the recipe so that each layer is thicker. Also...be sure not to make the mistake that I did...I actually ended up throwing away my first attempt of this cake! When it came to the strawberries, I thought, "I love strawberries....I'll add more." I added a whole container (1 pound). Strawberries are mostly water....and this made the mixture pretty runny. As a result the top layer didn't cook correctly, and after an extra hour in the oven, was burned. The next time, I followed the recipe and used one cup only of strawberries...and it was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Altoona, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2011
Had for Easter dinner on Sun.; all agreed best cheesecake ever. 12-yr.-old grandson said not to tell his mother that, though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2011
My cheesecake certainly did not look like the one in the picture. I wish the recipe was a bit more thorough. I couldn't tell if my cheesecake was undercooked because it jiggled and the middle was caved in a little, so I cooked it just 15 minutes longer and totally ruined it. What does it mean to bake it until "almost set"? I think the recipe should be more specific concerning the physical properties. Oh well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Mishawaka, Indiana, USA
Living In: Walkerton, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2012
for those of you that had a problem with the layer definition, I have made this cheesecake several times and I have found that if you freeze each of the first 2 layers for 10 to 15 minutes instead of just 5 minutes, it will look very much like the picture. this one is always a huge hit, even the first 2 I attempted that looked like a blown up tub of neapolitan ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Shimbo Mom
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2012
I made this for the In-Laws, and it was a major hit! However, I had two issues: 1) After 55 minutes, the middle was still completely raw, and ooxed out when we cut it, and 2) The top of the cake turned a brown color, making it look like a 4-layered cake! (But once I decorated it with chocolate shavings, it looked much better.) If you're up for it, it's definitely worth a try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shimbo Mom

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
This cheesecake recipe will not layer out as shown. I made it as per the recipe with no changes. You would have to make 2 times as much batter to get 3 large defined layers as shown. I had no problems with it setting after being baked for 50 minutes. I also made sure the strawberries were well drained as it could add too much moisture. I also agree with letting it sit in the freezer for at least 10 minutes before adding the top 2 layers of batter. At best, you can make a two layer cheese cake with the vanilla and chocolate layer and make a strawberry topping instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
Just made this for Christmas Day dinner. It was a big success and fairly easy to put together. The only thing I noticed was that my layers were not as prominently chocolate or strawberry in color or as high as in the picture. The next time I make it, I'm going to put more chocolate pieces in and add 2 squares of semi-sweet and 2 squares of milk chocolate, plus I'm going to make each batch with 2 bricks of cream cheese separately instead of making one bigger batch and trying to divide evenly. I also think I over drained the thawed strawberry mixture, which is why it came out more of a creamy pink color, but all-in-all it was good. My daughter, who is not a big cheesecake eater, really liked this one. That was a ringing endorsement.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Cheesecake

See how to make a classic cheesecake in five easy steps.

Sopapilla Cheesecake Dessert

A deliciously different cheesecake with a Mexican twist.

Caramel Macchiato Cheesecake

What’s cooking in Janesville? Creamy cheesecake with a splash of coffee.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States