Philly Mashed Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2006
I doubled the potatoes, and omitted the eggs. Then added 1 heaping tablespoon butter and 3 heaping tablespoons sour cream while mashing. I also added dried parsley and a cup of shredded cheddar cheese while mixing. Before topping with the fried onions, I covered the potato mixture with more shredded cheddar. There were none left!!( this made a 9x13 ) My family is begging for more already.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Grenada, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2008
This was fantastic... everyone asked for more, even the kids! I did as others suggested and added a bit of garlic and some grated cheddar cheese. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JEWELJETT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2000
WOW!!!! That is all I can say about these potatoes. The best I've ever had Will Make Again and Again Thanks........
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2003
Everybody really enjoyed these, I thought it went a little overboard on onions, so next time I may use half of a raw onion. I also make a recipe similar to this with just mashed potato and cream cheese, which is comparable. I also added some fresh parmesan cheese, I would make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Hartford, New York, USA
Living In: Alpharetta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2002
I have been searching for a good "make ahead" mashed potato recipe. THIS IS IT! I followed the recipe as stated except I added garlic but you could easily omit the chopped onion and the Durkee onion topping. They were creamy and not at all dry like so many make ahead recipes. A definte keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2002
I have made these 2 times in the last 2 weeks. This is a fantastic recipe.My kids will even reheat this and eat it for an after-school snack. couldn't get them to touch plain mashed potatoes once refridgerated. YUMMY!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2004
Great recipe! Potatoes were very smooth and creamy. I used 5 lbs. of red potatoes and I boiled several cloves of garlic with the potatoes and mashed the garlic in with the potatoes. My daughter, who isn't much of a potato eater, couldn't get enought of them. I will definitely make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2005
This was the perfect recipe for leftover mashed potatoes i had in the fridge! All i did was add the ingredients and bake. instead of the onions on top, i topped it with a little bit of garlic salt and a blend of mozzerella and asiago cheeses. delicious! perfect match with a meatloaf
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2003
Really liked these potatoes!! I was just going to make "plain" mashed potatoes to go with the pot roast I made for supper b/c that seemed the easiest. It was my male roommate who found this recipe and suggested we try it. Since I had all the ingrediants and it was't difficult, I thought why not? The french fried onions are a GREAT touch and I am sinceer when I say I have never thought to add them to mashed potatoes before but they add a great touch. Although they certaintly did not need it, on our second helping, we tried some gravy over them and they're good that way too (but the gravy did mask their original taste). Would make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2002
This was really creamy and delicious, if a bit labor intensive. I used scallion cream cheese because I had it and it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mascarpone Mashed Potatoes

See how to make amazing make-ahead mashers with mascarpone cheese.

Garlic Mashed Potatoes

Learn how to make red-potato mashers with garlic-flavored spreadable cheese.

How to Make Mashed Potatoes

Discover the best way to make light, creamy mashed potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States