PHILLY Hot Crab Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2009
I used this recipe as a jumping off point, I also added chopped spinach (fresh or frozen (thawed and drained) and instead of canned crab I got the crab from the seafood section of my grocery store, it was only a dollar more and I had plenty of crab. I used half swiss and half parmesan cheese. I also used mayo because of preference and actually added a tablespoon more. Finally, I finished it with panko bread crumbs and paprika during the last five minutes of cooking. With my doctoring this dip was a hit at superbowl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2009
This is a keeper! Served it for my company and it was gone in a flash! Didn't have Miracle Whip on hand so used mayo - turned out fine. Topped with toasted slivered almonds and served with wheat & water crackers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2009
Yummy! I added chopped artichoke hearts,Old Bay seasoning, paprika and a little garlic salt. My neighbor and I ate it with Club crackers and a baguette. She took some home. Good stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2010
This was very simple to make, but needed to be kicked up a notch! I added about 2 tablespoons of hot sauce because the dip was kind of bland if you stuck to the exact recipe. I also used the lump crab meat instead of the canned. The lump is much better quality. I will make this again, everyone enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2009
I used imitation crab from the seafood dept and ran it through the food processor. Honestly, the dip seemed a little bland and too thick. More onion or perhaps a seasoning would have helped. Next time I would add a little milk to it and try some Old Bay or other seasonings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
Very easy to make and quite tasty. Like another reviewer, I used mayo instead of Miracle Whip. Other than that, I followed the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2008
easy to make, and very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MYDNYTEFALLYNSTAR

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2009
This was a tasty dip, but it needed more crab and a bit more onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2009
It is worth it to purchase the "lump crab" instead of plain old crab in a can that you find next to the tuna....much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: El Cajon, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
This was a hit. I used imitation crab, added some fresh garlic and season salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dewitt, Michigan, USA
Living In: Holt, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Crab Dip

See how to make a hot and creamy crab dip served in a bread bowl.

How to Make Crab and Artichoke Dip

See how to make a creamy crab dip baked in a bread bowl.

Hot Artichoke and Spinach Dip II

This hot dip is loaded with spinach, artichokes, and plenty of gooey cheese!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States