Philly Cheesesteak Skillet Meal Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2009
I read the reviews and made it a little bit different too. I made a bit of a cheese sauce. 2 tablespoons of butter, 2 tablespoons of flour and a 1/4 cup of milk then I put in the can of mushroom soup, and about 2 tablespoons of sour cream. Then I add shredded cheese, cheddar and monterey jack. I also added for the spice about 3 tsps of Montreal Steak Spice. It turned out really well that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2006
This was ok...honestly it tasted a lot like the Hamburger Helper box stuff. I don't like using my "good ingredients" and getting that end result. Very cheesy as another reviewer said...and didn't taste a whole lot like philly cheesesteak to us. Thanks anyway for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momof2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Florissant, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2006
I made this for my 80 year old dad and hes not shy about telling me if he likes something or not. He liked it. I used a box of velveeta mac and cheese for the macaroni and the cheese then I added two handfulls of Mozzarella cheese..and a clove of minced garlic. It was pretty good. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Dallas - Ft. Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sassyoldlady
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2011
I used yellow peppers for this and Healthy Request Cream of Mushroom. Nice flavors, really cheesy. A good from scratch way to copycat Hamburger Helper. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sassyoldlady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2009
This is good! I made it as the recipe listed with no changes. It's a quick & easy recipe that uses common ingredients. A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2009
One of my hubby's favorites. I use ground turkey and Healthy Request Cream of Mushroom instead of regular. The first time I made it with just the regular Cream of Mushroom, it was very salty. I have also used whole wheat pasta as a way to make it a little healthier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2008
First, I didn't measure my macaroni - I used 1 pound, which I believe is very close to 2 cups. As is, it wasn't cheese enough for me, so I added a cup of mozz./prov. blend shredded. That really helped out. It is still a little bland for me, so next time I will add beef bouillin, to help the beef flavor stand out. Good start, but needed some modifications for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2008
Wasn't bad... was pretty comparible to a name brand boxed dinner where you add meat though. My husband called this a chuckwagon dinner and gave it 3.5 stars. My 4 yr old and 2 yr old ate it like there was no tomorrow... that's good enough for me to make it again! I didn't have cream of muchroom soup so I used cream of potato which actually gave this a really nice hearty flavor. For the noodles and processed cheese I used a box of velveta shells and cheese and it did the trick wonderfully. I also omitted the green pepper as I don't have any and my kids wouldn't eat it anyway. This is a keeper strictly for "in a pinch" but it lacks ebough flavor to keep it in my recipe book for good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2007
This was quick, cheap and easy. Gourmet it is not, but is anything with processed cheese food expected to be gourmet? I would make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by teachertmb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2012
I loved it! It did taste a lot like the hamburger helper philly cheesesteak but without the artificial flavor. This is exactly what i was looking for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Philly Cheesesteak Sandwich with Garlic Mayo

A tangy garlic mayo is the key to these easy steak sandwiches.

Souper Skillet Pasta

See how to make this quick and easy dinner.

Philly Cheese Steak Pizza

Grab a slice of Philly Cheese Steak pizza!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States