Philly Cheesesteak Skillet Meal Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
Thought this was too bland. Would taste better with some spices or without the milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellieann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manson, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2008
First, I didn't measure my macaroni - I used 1 pound, which I believe is very close to 2 cups. As is, it wasn't cheese enough for me, so I added a cup of mozz./prov. blend shredded. That really helped out. It is still a little bland for me, so next time I will add beef bouillin, to help the beef flavor stand out. Good start, but needed some modifications for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2008
This was pretty good for a fast and easy meal. It DID taste kind of Hamburger Helper-ish, but I was kind of expecting that based on the ingredients involved. I certainly knew that it wasn't going to taste like a true Philly cheesesteak. The only change that I made was to add a few extra seasonings. My kids loved it and DH and I ate it, so I will keep it on hand for nights when I'm feeling uninspired. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Raoulysgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Linn Creek, Missouri, USA
Living In: Camdenton, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2008
We thought this was a good, basic, quick and easy weeknight meal. As others have said, it is very much like a hamburger helper meal, but it's not processed powdered "stuff"...it's real ingredients. So, being "like" that is okay with me, as long as I'm not eating a bunch of chemicals! Our kids (9&7) enjoyed this as well, with our 7yo picking out the peppers. I'll make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2008
I have made something similar using Cream of Chicken which adds flavor plus use Shredded Cheddar for the cheese, and instead of adding macaroni, pour over cooked noodles, and top with shredded cheddar and brown in oven. Have served to the ladies in my card group, and they truly enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grace Cartwright Jones

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shelbyville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Columbia, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2008
Wasn't bad... was pretty comparible to a name brand boxed dinner where you add meat though. My husband called this a chuckwagon dinner and gave it 3.5 stars. My 4 yr old and 2 yr old ate it like there was no tomorrow... that's good enough for me to make it again! I didn't have cream of muchroom soup so I used cream of potato which actually gave this a really nice hearty flavor. For the noodles and processed cheese I used a box of velveta shells and cheese and it did the trick wonderfully. I also omitted the green pepper as I don't have any and my kids wouldn't eat it anyway. This is a keeper strictly for "in a pinch" but it lacks ebough flavor to keep it in my recipe book for good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2008
This was a good meal. I used bow tie pasta because that's what I had. I'm not a big fan of processed cheese, so I just put in a couple handfuls of shredded cheddar instead. As casseroles go, it's good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PULLEYHEATHER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2007
This was quick, cheap and easy. Gourmet it is not, but is anything with processed cheese food expected to be gourmet? I would make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by teachertmb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2006
I made this for my 80 year old dad and hes not shy about telling me if he likes something or not. He liked it. I used a box of velveeta mac and cheese for the macaroni and the cheese then I added two handfulls of Mozzarella cheese..and a clove of minced garlic. It was pretty good. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Dallas - Ft. Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2006
This was ok...honestly it tasted a lot like the Hamburger Helper box stuff. I don't like using my "good ingredients" and getting that end result. Very cheesy as another reviewer said...and didn't taste a whole lot like philly cheesesteak to us. Thanks anyway for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momof2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Florissant, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Philly Cheesesteak Sandwich with Garlic Mayo

A tangy garlic mayo is the key to these easy steak sandwiches.

Souper Skillet Pasta

See how to make this quick and easy dinner.

Philly Cheese Steak Pizza

Grab a slice of Philly Cheese Steak pizza!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States