Philly Cheesesteak Sandwich with Garlic Mayo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2010
Definitely 5 star! Used sirloin steak that sat in the fridge with steak seasoning on it for a day and a half to really absorb the flavors. BBQ the sirloin rare and then thinly sliced it and set aside in preparation for assembly. Carmelized the onions prior to making the sandwiches, then sauteed the peppers using green and red for color. Added mushrooms for a more true Philly sandwich. Used a variety of cheese; Manchego, Monterey and Mozarella. My favorite was the Manchego which gave it an edge. Baked the sandwiches open faced for 5 minutes to crisp the buns, then broiled until the cheese melted, bubbled and slightly browned. The garlic mayo made the sandwich! My family loved it. Thanks Tera for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
344 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal S

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2007
Superb. Based on comments read and my one Philly Phriend, I made six sandwiches. Two with provolone, two with mozarella, and (Philly) two with cheeze whiz. Provolone and mozarella were equal in outstanding taste. The cheeze whiz was good but not up to the others. Used everything the recipe called for except (above) and low fat mayo. Reheated leftovers in the oven, put in while heating to 500, when reached 500 took out, perfect. Micorwaved leftover sandwiches were not so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
186 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2006
this is a pretty good recipe. As suggested by another reviewer it tastes great if you add steak seasoning on the meat in the Am and let it sit until dinner time and then there is no need to season with the salt and pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
132 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2006
Great sandwich, but misnamed! 'Philly Cheesesteak' is very specific to it's ingredients not a blanket name for any sandwich with cheese on. Quite sacred to Philadelphians!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2003
This was a really great recipe, especially the garlic mayo, and it was so easy to make! We used red peppers also. Next time, I may use sirloin as the meat was a tiny bit tough, and I will also add mushrooms. You also may want to have them slice the meat for you at the grocery, since it is hard to cut that thin with a knife. But overall, it was an excellent recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MJMommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2006
The garlic mayo just put this over the top for us! I halved the recipe, and added a teaspoon of tomato pesto to it as well as a 1/2 teaspoon of Italian seasoning. I used thick-sliced deli roast beef for the steak. For us the sandwich tasted like restaurant fare--it was garlicky and cheesy with a great mingle of flavors. An awesome recipe Tera, thank you so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GRANNYLOOHOO

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Bixby, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Magnolia, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2006
I have never had a Philly cheesesteak, but this is real good. the garlic mayo made the difference. everyone in my home loved it. thanks for the recipe. this will be made over and over. If you have a hard time cutting the meat you can put it in the freezer till it hardens some. once it does that take it out and it is easy to slice thin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angie Beliveau

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Garner, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2011
Wow ... is the bottom line on this recipe. Only change was using my recipe instead of the Garlic Mayo. It is quite similar but has prepared horseradish and a few additional ingredients. Thanks for sharing your recipe, Tera ... fantastic!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dixie'sMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Reviewed: May 31, 2004
Turned out very good. I added some steak seasonings to the meat and let it sit for about 30 minutes in the fridge. I also used sirloin instead of the meat that was called for. I used mozzarella cheese mixture with provel (our personal preference). The garlic mayo was just the right touch. Thanks for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momof2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Florissant, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2008
I can't even begin to describe how good these were. I've wanted to try making Philly cheesesteak sandwiches for literally years and finally was brave enough to try them tonight. I used provolone instead of mozarella because I bought provolone thinking that was what I was supposed to have. I also used a red pepper in place of a green pepper because I prefer the sweeter taste. My changes didn't make this recipe though, the recipe itself made the recipe. Soooooo delicious. I will definitely make this again. Served with the baked french fries from this web site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Michelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pleasanton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 546) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Philly Cheesesteak Sandwich with Garlic Mayo

A tangy garlic mayo is the key to these easy steak sandwiches.

Reuben Sandwich II

See how to make a classic corned-beef deli sandwich.

The Big Dipper Sandwich

See how to make a tender roast beef sandwich with dipping sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States